Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Very flavorful and yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I followed this recipe to a tee after soaking over night. The only thing I did different was remove the seeds from the jalapeno. They were very good and took about 2 1/2 hours to cook. I probably added about 2-3 cups of water during the cooking time. Next time I'm going to add the whole 7oz can of green salsa and leave the seeds in the pepper and try them in the slow cooker. They were not as spicy as I thought they would be. My 11 year old granddaughter loved them. We served them over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
My husband kept going on and on about how good these smelled the whole time they were cooking. He kept asking when theyd be done. He really liked them once they were done but said theyd be even better with a little italian sausage or ham. I will definately make them again and try it with the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I have made these a couple of times and they have turned out well. I tend to add a little of this and a little of that to the recipe and it changes every time. I like the versatility.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: New Market, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Everyone enjoyed these even my kids. Nice flavor and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mooresville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Great side dish recipe. I served them with tamales and homemade spanish rice. I followed others' suggestions and used canned jalapenos and cooked the beans in my crock pot on low. Had a great kick without being too hot. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I gave this 4 star, but 5 star on following modifications. I'd stick with normal chicken broth. Was not salty enough, was lacking flavor, but adding regular chicken broth and some garlic powder about a t. brang out the flavors and really tickled the taste buds. I was scared to add garlic powder at first cuz was figuring with the low sodium chicken broth was low sodium for a reason, and it would make it too salty, but honestly not sure why it's low sodium, a little more saltiness is the final touch in this pinto bean recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mat Owen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA
Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This is a tasty and healthful way to prepare beans. It was well seasoned as is but we like things hot so next time I will add more jalapeño.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Great recipe - thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
A great healthier alternative to beans made with fattening bacon. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States