Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was a very tasty, filling, healthy meal! I paired this up with brown rice and it was very good. Seasonings were good, did not have to add the jalepeno since we like our beans mild. Hubby added lots of cheese to his but that is because he loves cheese on everthing! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYTAZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Delicious! I have tried several pinto bean recipes and this one is the favorite. I cooked this in a dutch oven on the stovetop. I added about a teaspoon of salt b/c of other reviews and 2 slices of bacon cut into 1" pieces. For my children I only used 1/2 Jalapeno. Also, to keep the flavor I added extra chicken broth instead of water as needed. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This is my absolutely favorite pinto bean recipe! Have made it several times as written. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Not what I expected at all after reading all the great reviews. I followed recipe to the letter. I will heed another reviewer's advice and turn the rest into refried beans so they're not a total waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I know I am a little hard on this recipe. But I grew up in Dove Creek CO. The pinto bean capital of the world. And we eat some beans. First I would like to comment on cooking beans, aside from the recipe. Beans vary greatly on how well they will cook by how old they are and by the altitude they are cooked at. At sea level 2 hours in a pot with fresh beans might get it done. I have seen my mother try to cook beans over a campfire, in a covered pot, while on a fishing trip at about 12,000 feet, and she cooked them all day and all they did was swell up and turn purple. And they were fresh beans. Essential in the cooking of Pinto's as far as I am concerned is a pressure cooker. Of course I live at 7,200 ft myself. clean the beans good and put them in the pressure cooker, with enough good water to almost fill the cooker (the beans swell a lot) usually don't cook up more than a couple of cups of beans unless you have a big pressure cooker, bring it up to full pressure and turn off the fire, and let them sit for about an hour until the pressure is all bled off. They are ready to use in about any application you want to use them in. This recipe to me was a little complicated to put together and a fair amount short on flavor. I have recipes for beans all the way from the basic (pressure cooker full of beans with a smoked ham hock) to full blown bean soup with all the complexity of this recipe but with much more down home flavor. contact me and I can set you up with any
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rowdy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Go with some of the other suggestions. I made the mistake of explicitly following the recipe and now I have beans in the freezer that I have NO motivation to eat. I always forget to salt pintos while they are cooking and if you don't they are next to impossible to make them taste anything other than bland...even the spices didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars, even though the instructions don't work as specified. This really must cook for a minimum of three hours and preferably longer. I added salt pork because in Texas we don't make beans without it. And instead of using water to keep the beans moist, I used chicken stock. Other than that, these beans can't be improved on--they are truly great beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I was looking for something to use up some fresh beans and I also had just bought some green salsa. Good recipe! Mine came out a little too spicy so I added some sugar and more liquid...but overall really good! Will repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Very good. I made this as a side dish and my husband and daughter loved it. I ended up eating them as my meal instead!! The only change I made was to use extra chicken broth instead of water to add more liquid as it cooked. I let them cook on the stove for about 5 hours because I did not soak my beans overnight. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I soaked the beans briefly and made them in the crock pot. I didn't have any green salsa so I just chopped up some tomatoes and threw them in. These beans turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ernsk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erlanger, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef, these ain’t your typical baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States