Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
If you are looking to cut back on things like fat or sodium, this recipe is for you. It can definetely stand up to traditional bean recipes that are made with bacon, but I have to confess that I added a little salt. Be sure to read the "PREP INSTRUCTIONS" on your bag of beans as most beans require some type of soaking prior to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I changed the servings to 8, since I didnt want a lot of leftovers! I am giving this 5 stars for the basic recipe, altho I only use my own homemade both and my experience with beans has led me to always pre-soak overnight in the frig, draining/changing the waters many times. I finished the overnight soak this a.m, and put them in the slowcooker with strained, clear homemade hamhock/garlic/onion/celery/carrot broth (I fed the disintegrated hocks and veggies to our wild creatures outdoors). In this broth I put the soaked beans and 6 cloves of raw garlic, cooked for 8 HOURS on low, before I added roasted chicken and ham steak pieces, 1 can of green chilis, and tasted for salt and other spices. I then added (to suit me) 1 cube of chicken bullion, no salt or pepper, 1 teaspoon of garlic powder and 1 teaspoon of cumin and turned the slowcooker off. It was ready to eat in about 1/2 hour. YUMMY! Here is the secret to beans: NEVER ADD SALT (bullion, in this case) UNTIL YOU ARE DONE OR NEARLY DONE COOKING. Salt added early will make the beans tough. Also, I have never in my life seen pinto beans cook in 2 hours, how on earth could this happen, especially without soaking? Happy eating, this was a great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was a wonderful twist on an old cold weather standby. It's got a fabulous flavor w/ just enough bite to make it interesting (& I don't like it too hot!). Definitely soak overnight and I cooked about 6 hours on high in the crock pot. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This recipe rocks!! I followed the recipe exactly, but then remembered 1 hour into the cooking time that I meant to halve all the ingredients as I used only 1/2 pound beans. Oooops. So added 2 cans of rinsed beans during the last 15 minutes or so. Ah, ya, and I soaked my beans over night then all day while I was at work. Put them in the slow cooker for the evening, on high, and sampled before bed. Tomorrow will be beans and corn bread for lunch. YUM! (will omit jalapeno next time, bit spicy for this gal). I'll make another batch with the other half pound of beans, and will remember to halve the other ingredients. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Mmm Mmm good. I was a bit sceptical but decided to try it out and see. Surprise! I love it! Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This is pretty good for a recipe with no salt in it. I did do a few things different, I added salt and used homemade chicken stock, left out the jalapeno becasue I didn' t have one. I think if I made again I would saute the onions, garlic and cumin before adding to the beans and would add more cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This ended up more like Chili beans. I should have read the ingredients better before selecting this one. I was looking for a tradional Pino Bean ( to go with cornbread) type. The family liked this pretty good, it just wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holleymc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This was very very good. the only thing i did different was add a can of tomatoes. I was very impressed. I serve it with mexican cornbread. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I soak the dry pintos overnight in water. In the morning I drain them, then put evertything in the crock pot on LOW all day (9-10 hours). I usually just use red salsa (bc I always have it on hand) add at least one can of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Just made these tonight. VERY yummy! I will be making them again for sure! I've never made pinto beans with chicken broth so I was a little skeptic but it does make the beans very tasty! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 777LIV777

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States