Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Slowcooker for 8 hours...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
A really good pinto beans recipe. Don't underestimate the value of the chicken broth. It definitely adds flavor. Instead of a fresh jalapeno, I used dried jalapeno flakes - McCormick has them - because it keeps you from accidentally getting any of the pepper on your hands, and you definitely don't want to do that!! I used one tablespoon, but I'd recommend you start out with less so you can "tweak" the heat to your taste. I also omitted the cumin because I don't care for it. I'll make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
These beans were pretty darn good. I didnt have green salsa, just a bottle of salsa with lime. So thats what I used, and I used extra chicken broth instead of water. It turned out real good. Every one in my family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
My hats off to Terry, great bean recipe! I add a couple of slices of bacon and a half cup red salsa then follow the recipe exactly. Goes great with mesquite smoked baby back ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I didn't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
his recipe produced delicious results. I didn't add the jalapeno as my kids don't like spicy food and it was still delicious. I mashed some and created refried beans, served in tortillas with rice and cheese and everyone ate every last bite. I cooked in the slow-cooker on low for 8 hours, delish. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Glendora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I have a suggestion - for anyone who hates the gassy phenomena that follow a bean dish. Soak the beans overnight in water - rinse and refill with enough water to cook. Boil the beans, just to the point that they're at a rolling boil and drain one more time - then proceed with the recipe as written. Wonderful flavor and texture, but no gas :) double win
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I used beef broth instead of chicken, and added chili powder for extra flavor. Soaking overnight helped too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
These had awesome flavor!!! I didn't have to add any extra salt or seasoning at all and they were perfect! Mine took more like 3 hours to cook though but no biggie. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This is a ok recipe. Nothing to get too excited about, but it tasted good. I doubt I will make it again, mostly because my husband doesn't like beans. It was mostly just for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimDennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States