Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
These were the best beans I have ever had. I grew up in the Chicago Region and we had beans and corn bread often, but used Great Northern beans. This is the first time I used pintos and will not go back to Great Northerns. As an added bonus, I am diabetic and my sugars were actually on the low side of normal the following morning after eating 2 bowls of beans and corn bread. Maybe I have discovered a new treatment for diabetes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Barnett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
A good, solid bean dish. Not spectacular but easy to make, good taste and better for you than a lot of fat laden side dishes. If your main dish is going to be the focus, this might be the perfect dish to accompany it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
These are very good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Very Tasty! Nicely seasoned. The beans need to cook much longer than 2 hours, I just let them simmer and added extra water as needed but otherwise a great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Unlike most of those on this site, I am a TERRIBLE cook! However, I followed this recipe exactly, but used a crock pot (also a lazy cook;) and I can't beleive it, but these taste great! Spicy enough, good consistency, and easy to make. IF I CAN MAKE THESE TASTE GREAT, YOURS WILL BE FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
We love this recipe! My mother was from Texas so I know good pintos. I didn't have any fresh jalapenos so I used canned. I happened to have some ham so I added a little of that as well. I didn't pre-soak, cooked them for about an hour on the stove top and because I had to leave, I finished them off in the slow cooker on high and added a little water when I got home. They are definitely spicy but not overwhelmingly so. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I had to add salt at the end of cooking to enhance flavors. I also added more cumin and jalapenos than the recipe called for. Would also be good with some canned adobo peppers. I would say a good starting recipe but needs modifications. I made in the slow cooker on low 8 hours after soaking overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Very good. Only ingredient change was to substitute a Tabasco pepper since I had them in the garden. Soaked beans overnight and put all ingredients in slow cooker. High for about 8 hr and then low until time to serve. Easy and inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Solon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
A reviewer warns against salting beans until the end of cooking. This is wrong. Even the soaking water should be salted. Scroll down to the relevant part of this excellent article
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Sorry to disagree with all the excellent reviews, but we thought these were only mediocre. I followed the recipe and didn't change anything. Next time I'd be more liberal with the spices, or try a different brand of green salsa to see if that makes the flavor pop any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States