Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
These were very good and easy to make. Definitely spicy though, wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
OK, but Mexican Bean recipe is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Great Flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
While I cannot rate this based on the cooking method of the beans I can rate on flavor. I used rinsed and drained canned pintos because I didn't trust the 2 hour cooking time for the beans. I invited neighbors for a spontaneous taco dinner and only had a few hours to prepare! I had everything else on hand...even the green salsa. So, of course the beans were tender but the dish lacked flavor. I let everything simmer for about 45 minutes and then sampled it. Dull, flat. After adding more of everything and some ancho chili powder, salt, more green salsa....and a spritz of fresh lime at the table, I was happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I am a Texan and this is, without a doubt, the BEST ever!!! I grew up on beans and consider myself an expert, but this recipe is equiv. to our high end recipes here in Houston...i think the chick.broth made the difference; I used a red chunky black bean/corn salsa and a large ham hock......also added 5-6 pieces of crisp bacon with a dollup of b.grease...That's the lagniappe, cha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
YUM! I make this in the pressure cooker. Only needs 5 minutes at pressure using pre-soaked beans and the natural release method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
You cannot go wrong with this recipe! It's cheap, too ... I figured out that it's a little over $3 for me to make this, and it feeds our family of five dinner (with Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread and a salad), and there are usually enough leftover for my husband to take for lunch. The only changes I make are doubling the cumin and using vegetable (or "vegetarian chicken flavored") broth instead of chicken. This is a great, simple, CHEAP dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaQueTeGusta
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I've made this recipe MANY times. I followed the recipe as written. It's great! I like my food spicy, so I use 3 jalapenos! Garnish with some cilantro on top ;) It's good. By the way, you should try pork skins with these beans. Just use the pork skins as "tortilla chips" by scooping up some beans. It tastes so good. The whole combo is absolutely delicious. Try it out at least once :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaQueTeGusta
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
These were just ok for my family. Being from central texas, I always love trying Texas recipes. I followed all directions, no changes, and these were pretty bland. Recipe looks fool proof. I love all the ingredients. I will use this as a base next time, and play around with it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Awesome recipe! Growing up, we always had a "beans and cornbread" night at our house. Now that I have a family of my own, I decided to continue the tradition. I never got the original recipe from my mom, but this recipe tastes exactly the same. Thank you very much! By the way, the BEST cornbread recipe I have found is Nicole Callen's, "Buttery Corn Bread" recipe, here on Allrecipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jungledrums

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Muscatine, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States