Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I had to add quite a bit of water to these and they took about 3 hours to cook. They were pretty tasteless when they were done, and I ended up adding more cumin and Mexican seasoning to them before serving. Thanks for the post, but I'll try something else next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I sought out this recipe b/c of it short cooking time. Lesson learned... no short cut for beans. I had to baby sit them b/c of the quick water evaporation. They ended up scorching and flavorless. Cannot find a reason to try to improve will stick with frijoles III from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oneandonly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Some of the best beans I have had in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I was hesitant to add all these ingredients, but I gave it a whirl and they turned out great. I felt it needed some salt and I made them in a crock pot on high for 3 hours rather than on the stovetop , but overall they had a nice kick to them and I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
These were just okay for us. The things that I changed were that I soaked the beans overnight and I cooked them in a crockpot due to time constraints. Mainly, I think our rating was just about personal preference. We just prefer that our beans be cooked with ham in them they come out with a taste that is better to us. Thanks for the recipe we love things spicy & might try again with the addition of some ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Excellent recipe! I used red jarred salsa instead of green and this pot was full of flavor. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I made these for my husband who had never had pinto beans as the main dish before and is a big meat eater. HE LOVED THEM! When I was a kid, my Texan step dad showed my mom how to make beans but hers were always fairly bland. This recipe is so tasty. Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
very very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mythuntold
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I have made this several times with a few modifications of my own. I first do a quick soak on the beans by sorting and then covering the beans with water, bing to a boil and cook 1 hour. Then turn off the heat and let stand covered for another hour. Drain off the water and rinse beans. I then add the ingredients shown in the recipe with the following modifications. I use 5 chicken broth cubes and 5 cups of water instead of the sodium free broth. I also add a couple of ham hocks for flavor. I cook the beans all day long on simmer. I serve with Grandma's Buttermilk Cornbread found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Tasty beans! I also soaked the dry beans overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef, these ain’t your typical baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States