Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Nice, but for a more 'Texas' taste, use beef stock I use cubes including one in the soak water, brown sugar and add a little cilantro to the mix. Also, soaking your beans over night greatly improves your cooking time. I use a crock pot on high for two hours then 6 hours at low, works everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
My girls LOVE my beans and I decided to try something different, unfortunately they didn't want to touch these after they tasted them. It was an ok recipe, but just not fitting for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravensdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Per some reviews, I added a couple slices of chopped bacon. I cooked these beans for a long time (at least 6 hours after they had soaked all night) and waited until the end to add the salsa verde. I tasted the beans prior to adding the salsa and thought they were DELICIOUS. After adding the salsa I didn't like them quite as much; personal taste I guess. But I will definately make these again without the salsa. Thanks for a tasty, easy, cheap recipe! You can't go wrong with a good ol' pot of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stockton, California, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
I have made this recipe twice, both times everybody loved them. I think the green sauce in combination with the chicken broth, does the trick. Thanks for a great recipe. UPDATE: Of course I have made these again, left out the jalapeno since I have a relative that "doesn't do hot stuff", and the beans still received raves from my guests. Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella Deer McKinney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Excellent recipe for pinto beans. I like mine a tad hot so I used two jalapeno peppers. I also added one half of a green pepper just because I like them. I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Excellent! Even my husband liked them sans meat. Pretty spicy with the jalapeno if you're a total gringo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Being a native Appalachian and a vegetarian (two things that don't generally go together), I wanted a recipe for pinto beans that didn't involve meat. By substituting no-chicken broth for the chicken broth in this recipe, I think I've found it. The biggest change I made, though, was throwing everything in the pot and letting it simmer all day. I would recommend using a Crock Pot or just simmering it on the stovetop for about 8 hours (and adding more water/broth as necessary). I added quite a bit more liquid, as where I grew up we liked "soup beans", but that's a matter of personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitewood, Virginia, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Really good ! I doubled the recipe and made refried beans out of half of them, both ways were awesome !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Love it! I used red salsa, since that is what I had on hand. Excellent with cornbread on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Made these without the jalapenos, still quite tasty. Left the salsa on the side for people to add as desired. My beans soaked overnight and they still required a long cook time. Will make them again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TB

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 171-180 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States