Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
soak beans for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baylesjeremy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I love these beans! I make them every couple weeks. I leave out the jalapeno because it's a little hot for my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niffy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This is a great basic bean recipe. I am "into" heirloom beans and am looking for simple recipes. In addition to making this with pinto beans, I have made it with Yellow Indian Woman heirloom beans. Great. Next I'll try it with Yellow Eye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
8 hours on low in the slow cooker and used about 4 cups of better than bullion broth And just fyi always soak beans overnight. As a general rule, with beans the longer they soak and/or cook, the less gas there'll be. And you know what I mean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Followed directions on package of beans but took longer than 2 hours. Let simmer in crock 4-5 hours the night before and then again all day for 8-9 hours more. They tasted fine, nothing to rave about though. We used them in "Chipotle" style burritos. My kids loved them like this, but just as a rice and beans dish would have been too bland for my family. Needed more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Great recipe! I went the easy route and used canned pinto beans to reduce cooking time to about 25 minutes instead of two hours. I like my spices kicked up a bit so I went a little heavier on all of the seasonings and loved the result. I'd also recommend adding a couple shakes of salt. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonny's Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
These beans took over 24 hours to cook! By then, I had to add so much water they were quite flavorless. I'm giving it an extra star on the chance that I had defective beans, if there is such a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gina brown
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Oh sooo good...I will make these again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Photo by Tamara
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
These beans rock!!! I didn't have jalapenos so I used green peppers and ground chipotle. I also added bacon like a few of the reviews recommended. This will be my go to reciepe for pinto beans from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I've searched and searched for a basic, reliable bean recipe like my grandmother used to make and I finally found it here! I wasn't sure about the green salsa but had some on hand (not too hard to find in Texas) and decided to give this a shot. The green salsa is very subtle and you don't really notice it specifically, but it adds a depth of flavor that really works. I did add a few pieces of bacon which I thought added a nice little boost of flavor that I'll keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States