Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
My hats off to Terry, great bean recipe! I add a couple of slices of bacon and a half cup red salsa then follow the recipe exactly. Goes great with mesquite smoked baby back ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I didn't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
his recipe produced delicious results. I didn't add the jalapeno as my kids don't like spicy food and it was still delicious. I mashed some and created refried beans, served in tortillas with rice and cheese and everyone ate every last bite. I cooked in the slow-cooker on low for 8 hours, delish. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Glendora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I have a suggestion - for anyone who hates the gassy phenomena that follow a bean dish. Soak the beans overnight in water - rinse and refill with enough water to cook. Boil the beans, just to the point that they're at a rolling boil and drain one more time - then proceed with the recipe as written. Wonderful flavor and texture, but no gas :) double win
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I used beef broth instead of chicken, and added chili powder for extra flavor. Soaking overnight helped too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
These had awesome flavor!!! I didn't have to add any extra salt or seasoning at all and they were perfect! Mine took more like 3 hours to cook though but no biggie. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This is a ok recipe. Nothing to get too excited about, but it tasted good. I doubt I will make it again, mostly because my husband doesn't like beans. It was mostly just for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimDennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
If you are looking to cut back on things like fat or sodium, this recipe is for you. It can definetely stand up to traditional bean recipes that are made with bacon, but I have to confess that I added a little salt. Be sure to read the "PREP INSTRUCTIONS" on your bag of beans as most beans require some type of soaking prior to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I changed the servings to 8, since I didnt want a lot of leftovers! I am giving this 5 stars for the basic recipe, altho I only use my own homemade both and my experience with beans has led me to always pre-soak overnight in the frig, draining/changing the waters many times. I finished the overnight soak this a.m, and put them in the slowcooker with strained, clear homemade hamhock/garlic/onion/celery/carrot broth (I fed the disintegrated hocks and veggies to our wild creatures outdoors). In this broth I put the soaked beans and 6 cloves of raw garlic, cooked for 8 HOURS on low, before I added roasted chicken and ham steak pieces, 1 can of green chilis, and tasted for salt and other spices. I then added (to suit me) 1 cube of chicken bullion, no salt or pepper, 1 teaspoon of garlic powder and 1 teaspoon of cumin and turned the slowcooker off. It was ready to eat in about 1/2 hour. YUMMY! Here is the secret to beans: NEVER ADD SALT (bullion, in this case) UNTIL YOU ARE DONE OR NEARLY DONE COOKING. Salt added early will make the beans tough. Also, I have never in my life seen pinto beans cook in 2 hours, how on earth could this happen, especially without soaking? Happy eating, this was a great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was a wonderful twist on an old cold weather standby. It's got a fabulous flavor w/ just enough bite to make it interesting (& I don't like it too hot!). Definitely soak overnight and I cooked about 6 hours on high in the crock pot. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States