Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Good stuff! I omitted the jalapeno pepper and used a Serrano pepper which I quartered and simmered with the beans. Remove Serrano pepper before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
My beans turned out a little bland but I am certain that it was because I added too much water. I used a can of Rotel diced tomatoes with green chilis instead of the green salsa and a slice of turkey bacon. I also used garlic powder, onion powder & flakes, chili powder, & black pepper. I soaked the beans for about 10 hours before cooking them (draining & rinsing twice). I cooked them on the stove for 7 hours. I will definitely try this recipe again but will be sure to reduce the amount of water I add. For those whose beans were still a little crunchy after cooking -- make sure to soak them for several hours and drain the water once or twice. Also beans have a shelf life so if they have been in your pantry/cabinet for over a year then it's highly possible that they will not turn out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Awesome! We loved this recipe! I put this in the crockpot before leaving for work. I'll double the liquid when I make it next time. I also put a piece of pork in with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lbiggart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
These don't have much flavor. Had to add alot more seasoning....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
These are really good. Serve with regular or mexican cornbread. These are my husbands favorite beans that I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsByrd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I enjoyed these beans...I added four smoked ham hocks to the pot for flavor and the teeny bit of meat that they lend. I also added chili powder and cumin to enhance the smokieness. Add this reduced and beans cooked the sauce was wonder and rich. I did soak my pintos overnight! Thanks for a yummy recipe to serve with cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I really enjoyed these beans, but I doubled the recipe and they started to dry out really quick, so I added a can of red enchilada sauce and a can of diced green chilis. I also used a can of pace instead of the green salsa.. My husband loved them. They were too spicy for the kids. I loved them. My picky extended family hardly touched them so we had nearly two pounds of beans left after our family night. Doesn't hurt my feelings though, they hardly eat anything. I like that this is different and delicious. I will make them again (on a much smaller scale).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
The recipe as is tastes great, but I like adding some cooked, shredded boneless chicken breasts so it ends up like a white chili. I soak the beans overnight and add pickled jalapenos (along with a few tbsp of the juice) and cook otherwise as is in a crockpot on low all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbcrowder

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Not being from the south I normally hate pintos but after making these I absolutely love them. These are the best beans EVER! I use whatever broth I have on hand, chicken or beef and sometimes I use buillon. I've used red salsa.With or without jalepeno. Its just great. Soak the beans overnight and throw it all inthe crockpot in the morning. Let it cook all day. Great no fuss dinner and the house smells amazing while they are cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I absolutely love this recipe. I make it often. The cumin and jalapenos really make the flavor delicious. I never have green salsa, so I just use red. This recipe is not picky about measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States