Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
Well, I'm a native Texan and have been making pinto beans for years and years and years and thought I would try something new. Well, my grandma's recipe (which uses tomatoes, bacon, etc.) may have to go on the back burner for awhile because these were fantastic and loved by the entire crowd. I cooked them for several hours until they were nice and tender and followed the recipe exactly using the green salsa. This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
410 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I have made this recipe atleast a dozen times and it comes out awesome every time. My little tweeks: I use canned diced jalapenos to taste and I stick it in the crockpot on low all day. Also, I always soak the beans the night before. Great beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Awesome Recipe. I did change a few things just because that is all I had on hand and they still came out with a really good flavor. I substituted onion for an envelope of onion soup mix and jalapeno for a can of green chilies and used pace picante sauce instead of the green salsa. I also added ketchup to the beans just because that is what my mother in law always does. The beans did take longer than two hours to cook though. I will next time follow the suggestion of another reviewer and soak the beans over night. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracie&gabrielsmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
We cooked this in a pot for about 8 hours. It was excellent. We cooked the beans at a cook-off and won first place. I strongly recommed this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
This recipe is awesome! I didn't have canned chicken broth, so I just reconstitued dry bullion cubes. I also substitued Pace picante sauce for the green salsa. It turned out great. Increasing the garlic doesn't hurt, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Delish! I used Red salsa as well. Lil' more garlic & wal laaa.... Mix & throw all in crock pot. So easy & very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Very easy and yummy. I mixed everything the night before and let it soak overnight. Served it over brown rice. It was a super easy, low-fat dinner for my family. I left out the jalapenos and used red salsa instead of green. I also added more garlic, pepper, salt and cumin to taste after about an hour of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Fantastic! I increased the garlic by 1 clove and did not use jalapenos. This was also cooked on low in my crockpot for about 8 hours. Delicious when paired with Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread from this site. We had that bread with these beans tonight and it was like comfort food. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I am making a huge pot of beans for a family bbq today as I type this review out. Two things this recipe fails to mention is...1 - make sure your beans are not outdated (yes beans do go stale). And 2 - beans need to be soaked (overnight preferably and depending on the bean) in order to rehydrate them. With both of those said, the older the bean, the longer it takes to cook, that is if it will cook up at all (regardless of soaking). And with soaking, not only does the bean rehydrate (resulting in a shorter cooking time..the 2hours as the recipe suggests for 1 lb of beans), but you also properly clean the beans of any debris and remove the indigestible complex sugars from the outer coating of the beans. End result - shorter cooking time and hardly any flatulence from the family (which I'm thankful for). As always, I usually modify a recipe depending on what ingredients it calls for and what I have on hand. I didn't have any pinto beans, so I am using 2 - 1 lb bags of Great Northern beans. I added 1 can of reduced sodium vegetable stock and 1 can of reduced sodium chicken stock. 2 cans of diced green chili. 1 can of rotel tomatoes/green chili. 1 whole onion (diced). 1 tbs of diced garlic. About 1.5 tsp of Mrs Dash. A pinch of salt. A few turns of the pepper grinder. And about 1 tsp of chili powder. Add water to cover. Check every so often for water evaporation. Add extra water as needed. Family loved these beans!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 79SHALE97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This is a good, low-fat recipe for beans. I followed the recipe, except I did soak my beans over night, and I did add a lot of water. I gave 4 stars instead of 5 because we just prefer our beans cooked with meat (sausage, bacon or ham bone..not so low-fat!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States