Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
My husband begs for pinto's and cornbread all the time. This one is a winner and by far the best pinto bean recipe I've ever made! I did change it up a little and I will post the way I made it below. I will keep on making it this way for years to come. I have one word for this and that is DELICIOUS! Best served with Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread from this site: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/grandmothers-buttermilk-cornbread/detail.aspx . Here is the way I made the beans: 1.Rinse pinto beans off making sure all dirt or anything else is removed from them. 2.Place beans in a big bowl covering them with cold water, make sure water is roughly 3-4 inches above beans so they can expand. Soak them in the fridge overnight for approx 12 hours. 3.Drain water in the morning. 4.Place 4 cups hot water in crock pot with the 2 tsp chicken base and 2 tsp beef base. 5.Place garlic, jalapenos, onion, and cumin powder in the water mixture. 6.Place the beans in the crock pot with the mixture and stir. 7.Top of the bean mixture in the crock pot with two ham hocks placed on either side. 8.Cook on high heat in the crock pot for 2-3 hours. 9.Then place on low heat until supper time, approx 6 hours. They will come out delicious every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Great recipe. I added 2 ham hocks and cooked all day in a crock pot. Added seasoning to taste an hour before serving with a pan of cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Absolutely awesome! Definitely my new go-to recipe for beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This was very good as is! The only thing I would change is soak the beans overnight or let them cook 3 to 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I make these beans about once a week now. They are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Darlington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I made this exactly like the recipe and would not change a thing for this particular recipe. It was even better the second day!! I thought I would miss some kinds of meat addition, but really was just so good as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
VERY good! I made the mistake of putting medium salsa into it and it added some fire to it. Not great for the kiddos but daddy and I love it! This is hands down, the best recipe for our "beans and cornbread" dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Made recipe 'almost' exactly as written. Used chicken boullion cubes w/water instead of canned broth, doubled the recipe, and made it in the crockpot. I soaked the beans overnight; cooked on low for 8 hours - everyone LOVED THIS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was fantastic, though I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I used canned pinto beans and just combined the ingredients and heated them for 15-20 minutes to make a soup. The beans tasted so buttery and the spices added just enough heat. A healthy and hearty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Great flavor in this recipe. I think my beans were too old so some ended up crunchy. I'll make this again and maybe try to make refries out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UALMEIDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Encinitas, California, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef, these ain’t your typical baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States