Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
These are so flavorful! I soaked my beans for a couple hours first though. I sauteed my onions and pepper in my pressure cooker, then added everything else. In the pressure cooker, it only took maybe ten minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheLogHomeKitchen
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Very much like the one's I've made for years. These had a special kick with the green salsa. The ingredients were balanced quite well. Not too mild, not too hot. A great standard for those who love pinto beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLogHomeKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Made recipe as written .Except I added a ham hock . The beans were soso the first day but after sitting in the fridge for three days they were FANTASTIC!!I am making them again this weekend, for dinner on wednesday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Woolsey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
When I looked at the simplicity of this recipe, I was really skeptical. It looked too easy to be good. I was wrong—this recipe is fantastic. I changed a few things, mainly using a pressure cooker because I hate waiting hours for beans to cook. I put all the ingredients into the pressure cooker with an extra 16 ounces of broth, and cooked under pressure for 30 minutes. (Instead of 1 tsp cumin, I used 3 teaspoons cumin seeds.) I then simmered it for another hour and added 2 tablespoons of maple syrup, while the broth cooked down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I used this recipe as directed except I used my slow cooker. I soaked the beans for atleast 12 hours first. For some reason it took forever and after 12+ hours on LOW, I turned up to HI for a few hours and the beans were still a little hard. Finally put everything on the stove and simmered for a few more hours and viola, they were done. I used regular chicken broth (not low sodium) and my beans were old so maybe that was the problem. I have read that adding salt during the cooking process will cause the beans to remain hard. Overall I thought the taste was ok, but after the long process, I guess I just expected something more amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GULFTRADE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moses Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I made this last night to top the Fry Bread Tacos by Robyn. We used it in instead of meat, and it was a big hit with my family. I only have old beans that never seem to get soft, plus I made it at the last minute, so I used a jar of pinto beans. I sauted the onion and garlic in olive oil, then added to the beans. I didn't have fresh jalepeno pepper so used some canned green chili's. I'll use fresh next time, but it was really delicious anyway. I think I'll also use this for regular tacos from now on instead of refried beans. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This was so good. My husband ate 3 bowls of it! I made it brothy and used chili powder since I didn't have any cumin. The flavor was so good! I also put in quite a bit more diced fresh garlic since I was using elephant garlic and it doesn't pack as much punch. I made the Vegan Cornbread (this website) to go with it. We're not vegan but the recipe looked good and it sure was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I make this all the time and just add a pound of seasoned meat. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
The best pinto bean recipe! Very pleased with this one. I love that I don't have to soak the beans, just clean and begin. This has been the fastest I have succeeded with raw beans and they are so flavorful. I have tweaked the recipe with a slight difference of flavors several times and have been satisfied every time. Have not had leftovers yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I prepared this in my crockpot, but despite soaking the beans and cookking for several hours, it should have been cooked on high. Much better the second time I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States