Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
When I looked at the simplicity of this recipe, I was really skeptical. It looked too easy to be good. I was wrong—this recipe is fantastic. I changed a few things, mainly using a pressure cooker because I hate waiting hours for beans to cook. I put all the ingredients into the pressure cooker with an extra 16 ounces of broth, and cooked under pressure for 30 minutes. (Instead of 1 tsp cumin, I used 3 teaspoons cumin seeds.) I then simmered it for another hour and added 2 tablespoons of maple syrup, while the broth cooked down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I used this recipe as directed except I used my slow cooker. I soaked the beans for atleast 12 hours first. For some reason it took forever and after 12+ hours on LOW, I turned up to HI for a few hours and the beans were still a little hard. Finally put everything on the stove and simmered for a few more hours and viola, they were done. I used regular chicken broth (not low sodium) and my beans were old so maybe that was the problem. I have read that adding salt during the cooking process will cause the beans to remain hard. Overall I thought the taste was ok, but after the long process, I guess I just expected something more amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GULFTRADE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moses Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I made this last night to top the Fry Bread Tacos by Robyn. We used it in instead of meat, and it was a big hit with my family. I only have old beans that never seem to get soft, plus I made it at the last minute, so I used a jar of pinto beans. I sauted the onion and garlic in olive oil, then added to the beans. I didn't have fresh jalepeno pepper so used some canned green chili's. I'll use fresh next time, but it was really delicious anyway. I think I'll also use this for regular tacos from now on instead of refried beans. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This was so good. My husband ate 3 bowls of it! I made it brothy and used chili powder since I didn't have any cumin. The flavor was so good! I also put in quite a bit more diced fresh garlic since I was using elephant garlic and it doesn't pack as much punch. I made the Vegan Cornbread (this website) to go with it. We're not vegan but the recipe looked good and it sure was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I make this all the time and just add a pound of seasoned meat. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
The best pinto bean recipe! Very pleased with this one. I love that I don't have to soak the beans, just clean and begin. This has been the fastest I have succeeded with raw beans and they are so flavorful. I have tweaked the recipe with a slight difference of flavors several times and have been satisfied every time. Have not had leftovers yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I prepared this in my crockpot, but despite soaking the beans and cookking for several hours, it should have been cooked on high. Much better the second time I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Good, but I should have followed my instinct and put it in the slow cooker. 4 1/2 hours of cooking, and the beans were edible, but not as done as I would like. Good flavor. I did use home canned salsa, and added some smoked andouille sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mason and Ella's G-Ma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Holts Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
YUM! Thank you for sharing. I now make this at least once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
So, so good. This was only the second time I've made beans. Super easy and the family loved them. I did add 3 or 4 diced chipotle peppers in adobo while it cooked and a handful of chopped cilantro at the very end!! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States