Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
these were amazing. I did cheat and used canned beans. I drained them, added the spices and simmered them for 1hr. Everyone loved them and commented on what great flavor they had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
These were delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, except I added a chunk of salt pork to the beans while they were cooking. I cooked it all in the slow cooker on high for 6....and they were great! Even better the next day after cooking for another 4. Would do these again.....exactly the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Best beans I have made - this is my standby recipe for pinto beans with one minor but necessary change: I always add 3-4 slices of bacon and cook the beans with it. I remove the bacon after the beans are done and it seems to change the texture of the beans and adds a little smoky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Much tastier than canned beans. I soaked beans overnight first, then rinsed and drained. Cooked at high for 4 hours, then low for 3. Very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I soaked my beans overnight and used vegetable broth instead of chicken, but otherwise followed the directions. They were wonderful and my house smelled great when they were cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
My all time fav Pinto Beans right here!!!! I really do not like Pintos so this is the only way I cook them now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Turner Tucker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Fabulous!!! These beans are so good; I couldn't stop eating them! I will make this recipe again and again. I did soak my beans overnight, then put everything in the slow cooker on low for 8 hours. YUM! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Slowcooker for 8 hours...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
A really good pinto beans recipe. Don't underestimate the value of the chicken broth. It definitely adds flavor. Instead of a fresh jalapeno, I used dried jalapeno flakes - McCormick has them - because it keeps you from accidentally getting any of the pepper on your hands, and you definitely don't want to do that!! I used one tablespoon, but I'd recommend you start out with less so you can "tweak" the heat to your taste. I also omitted the cumin because I don't care for it. I'll make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
These beans were pretty darn good. I didnt have green salsa, just a bottle of salsa with lime. So thats what I used, and I used extra chicken broth instead of water. It turned out real good. Every one in my family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States