Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Good flavor, but fell short of my expectations. I did find it sloppy looking with the bean skin goop - I am going to presoak the beans and remove that unattractive goo, maybe it will be more visually appealing. But - like all my reviews, goop or no goop this is KID APPROVED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graphxlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Easy but very good recipe. I followed soaking directions on bean package before starting, then put all in the crockpot on high and cooked all day. I added a few extra cloves of garllic and used two jalapenos instead of 1 and about 1 cup of the green salsa. I served over rice one night and also have been eating them as is. They are even better the next day. This recipe is definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
These were the best beans I have ever had. I grew up in the Chicago Region and we had beans and corn bread often, but used Great Northern beans. This is the first time I used pintos and will not go back to Great Northerns. As an added bonus, I am diabetic and my sugars were actually on the low side of normal the following morning after eating 2 bowls of beans and corn bread. Maybe I have discovered a new treatment for diabetes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Barnett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
A good, solid bean dish. Not spectacular but easy to make, good taste and better for you than a lot of fat laden side dishes. If your main dish is going to be the focus, this might be the perfect dish to accompany it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
These are very good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Very Tasty! Nicely seasoned. The beans need to cook much longer than 2 hours, I just let them simmer and added extra water as needed but otherwise a great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Unlike most of those on this site, I am a TERRIBLE cook! However, I followed this recipe exactly, but used a crock pot (also a lazy cook;) and I can't beleive it, but these taste great! Spicy enough, good consistency, and easy to make. IF I CAN MAKE THESE TASTE GREAT, YOURS WILL BE FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
We love this recipe! My mother was from Texas so I know good pintos. I didn't have any fresh jalapenos so I used canned. I happened to have some ham so I added a little of that as well. I didn't pre-soak, cooked them for about an hour on the stove top and because I had to leave, I finished them off in the slow cooker on high and added a little water when I got home. They are definitely spicy but not overwhelmingly so. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I had to add salt at the end of cooking to enhance flavors. I also added more cumin and jalapenos than the recipe called for. Would also be good with some canned adobo peppers. I would say a good starting recipe but needs modifications. I made in the slow cooker on low 8 hours after soaking overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Very good. Only ingredient change was to substitute a Tabasco pepper since I had them in the garden. Soaked beans overnight and put all ingredients in slow cooker. High for about 8 hr and then low until time to serve. Easy and inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Solon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States