Terry's Favorite Easy Chicken Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Excellent, as usual I read the reviews 1st and followed some suggestions. I used cream of mushroom soup and used 1/2 of the cream cheese. I wanted to use what was on hand so I diced an onion, 1/4 cup celery and leaves and sauted and also 1/2 cup of rehydrated mushrooms (Sam's Club carries Tone's dried), 1/4 cup diced sauted carrots and 1/2 cup fresh brocoli sauted. WOW---this is outstanding and I can see where it would be just fine as a company dish. I'm going to try cream of roasted garlic and potato soup next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracehatter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
OMG! Yummie!!! This was so easy and so good. I did listen to past reviews about cutting the cream chez to 4oz., then I sauteed garlic, onions and potatoes. Mixed it all together and sprinkled savory seasoning, garlic, onion powder, lots of pepper and mix and then pour into my prebaked regular pie crust. I then flipped over my second thawed out pie crust on top and made some slits on the top and baked I don't like dark crust so i covered my edges with tin foil. Tip; cook in the regular pan the crust come in and place a lined cookie sheet with tin foil underneath then place pie in center of foiled pan and bring foil up around the edges for perfect crust and no clean up or extra dishes Hip Hip Hooray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
I made this for the second time tonight and even though I made extra it was ALL gone! I changed the cream cheese / soup ratio to favor the soup a bit more. I used leftover chicken thigh meat and for the veggies I used carrots (fresh), peas (frozen), leftover boiled new potatoes, and chopped shallots. I only wish I had pre-sauteed the carrots and the shallots since they weren't quite as done as I would have liked. I also added pepper and ground savory (poultry seasoning would work as well) and the flavor was heavenly. This is going to be a staple in our house for many years to come. Thanks Terry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RivertownMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2000
I added cubed, cooked yukon gold potatoes, and some sauteed carrots and squash. YUM!!! This is such a comforting dish--perfect after a hard day at work! Makes for an awesome reheat, too! It is almost better as leftovers, so that the filling can solidify a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSBEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
YUMMO AND EASY!!! I made my own pie crust and what a nice and fast dinner!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Antonia~

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermiston, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
this is extermely easy to make. i boiled 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts. i used 8 oz cream cheese, the can of soup and 1/2 bag of mixed vegetables as suggested. however, i added 1 rib of cut celery, 1/2 onion, 1/2 can boiled potatoes (cut)and 1/4 c milk. this was enough to make 2 pies. do not add salt (it soup has enough) but freshly ground pepper is necessary. will make this easy recipe again. may experiment with rosemary, thyme and other spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This recipe is so basic and delicious. My family adores it, especially with the frozen pie crust. My only recommendation is to make sure you season your chicken well and possibly add a bit of seasoning you love to the cream cheese mix. Otherwise, it can be a bit bland. I think the suggestion to cut the cream chese is crazy - this is what makes this dish creamy and better than the same old pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This recipe was heavenly...I scaled it to 40 servings and made it for a dinner I catered. I used phyllo dough on the top instead of pie crust and it was delicious. Everyone said it was by far the best chicken pie they had ever had. The filling was the best ever. Great find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This is a very good Chicken Pie. I gave this recipe a Twist. I was in a hurry to scramble something for our supper. I had 1 frozen pie shell and didn't have time to make a top crust or run to the store to buy another pie shell so I did the recipe as called but used my own bottled veggies (peas, carrots and corn) and for the top crust I added left over mashed potatoes. Baked in the oven till bottom crust was done and Top Potatoes were golden brown. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cap-Pele, New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This was a quick meal but for us it also tastes like a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States