Terri's Chicken Carcass Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I loved this recipe, but of course I tweeked it a bit. Instead of 2 tomatoes chopped & can of green chilies, I used 1 can tomatoes w/ chilies, I used 1 can white hominy (drained) & 1 cup frozen or 1 can corn (drained) I used regular pinto beans & put in 1/2 pkg ranch dsg mix. I didn't have regular chili powder, so I put in chipolte chili powder. Didn't have potatoe flakes, so I used Wondra or you can reserve some of the chicken broth & thicken with cornstarch or flour in the end to thicken up. My son says it is the best soup I have ever made! Karen :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Fantastic recipe! I substituted leftover thanksgiving turkey for the chicken. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Great use of Thanksgiving day left overs. I used mashed potatoes instead of the flakes and black beans instead of the pinto beans. I also added 4 sticks of celery. Very good though. Will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chad Compton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I simmered a rotisserie chicken in a bout 8-9 cups water with onions and garlic powder so essentially I doubled the original recipe. Shredded the leftover chicken and added it to the other ingredients in the crockpot. I also chopped up half a green pepper and added a can each of black and navy beans(in place of the 'ranch style') plus used a full Tablespoon of chili powder for an extra kick. Cooked on low for 8+ hours. By itself delicious!! Then we started serving it topped with shredded cheese, fresh cilantro, chunks of avocado and crushed tortilla chips and it was even BETTER! I've made quite a few recipes on allrecipes but this is the first time I've written a review-that's how good this was!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Love this soup! My husband and brother love and they are not soup fans. I changed up a bit and added water to chiken stock and 1 chicken bullion cube. Sauteed onions and bell peppers in pot. And cut limes to add to soup once its served. Deeeelicious. I used turkey leftovers instead of chicken. Definatley a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
My husband, who is not an avid soup fan, made this last night, and we both ate until we were almost ashamed. This soup is fantastic! Due to time constraints, he cooked it on the stove top, and began with two frozen chicken breasts which were cooked in water seasoned with salt, black pepper and garlic powder. When the chicken was done, he chopped/shredded it, removed the fat and began adding everything to the pan, including chicken broth. He didn't want to use the liquid the chicken was cooked in. When it came to chile powder, he grabbed the 1/2 tablespoon measure instead of the 1/2 teaspoon, and we debated, then went ahead and used the larger amount. That's the only ingredient we changed, and we just ooohed and aaahed because the soup was so good! Another new favorite to add to the soup section of our recipe file. Thank SO much for sharing this. I'll be sure to pass it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
A name change seems in order. First, when my family says, "What's for dinner?" I don't really want to say "Chicken Carcass Stew." Second, doesn't carcass imply using the bones (i.e., as when you make broth)?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Excellent with a couple of changes. After shredding the leftover chicken I took the leftover bones and boiled them with carrots, garlic ect. Used that broth for the soup and then added one package of chicken taco seasoning to the soup. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
This tasted good, but I thought it would be a little more flavorful than it was. Next time I will add more spices. It took much longer than 6 hours on low. Corn bread is a great side with this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BABYFRO97
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
My Fiance and I loved this dish. We were running out of ideas for our leftovers and this was the perfect change up. We don't care for hominy so I left it out and added a can of white beans instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYFRO97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States