Terrific Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Best chili I've ever made. I omitted the green chilis as I couldn't find any in the store. I added the spices and tomato paste to the meat at the early stage of browning as the recipe was unclear if spices went in before, during, or after browning. It made the meat really finely crumbled and delicious. I also added two cans of rinsed and drained beans at the final stage with the zucchini. I used sodium reduced taco seasoning and broth to shave out some salt, and make the dish even healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Loved this recipe! Added a can of retried beans, red (instead of green) pepper, 2 lg. tomatoes ( for the salsa), left out the zucchini (only bc husband doesn't like), also added few shakes of chili powder, and cumin powder along with all the spices suggested. This recipe is a keeper. Added bit of shredded cheddar and dalop of sour cream. So GOOD! p.s. if I'd had canned beans on hand would have added those also. Really like the consistency that the retried beans gave to this dish. Quick to make also . ENJOY,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Tasted too much like spaghetti sauce until I added chili powder, cumin, garlic powder and kidney beans. Not sure I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vikki Cabral

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Just barely edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
My husband never missed the beef! I couldn't believe it! I used very lean turkey and made my own "taco seasoning"....onion powder, garlic powder, chili powder, ground cumin, salt, pepper. I used a red bell because that is what i had. I left out the red pepper flakes. Next time, I will omit the salsa and use an extra can of tomato sauce, or something. I could taste salsa in there. It took away from the chili flavor. Not to mention, it made it too spicy for my 8 and 5 yo kids to eat. topped with cheese, green onion and avocado! Will definitely make again! Love the zucchini in there. Who would have thought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I made this recipe last night and I am VERY pleased with it. I am no chef by far and as I was cutting the vegetables up I got a chance to see that even more. I omitted some of the ingredients because my supermarket didn't have them (green onions, coriander, and tomato paste). I also forgot to add the diced tomatoes and I didn't have tomato paste so I used a small can of tomato sauce. Maybe there is a big difference but I doubt I would taste it as much. Also, I used a peppercorn blend that had coriander in it because there was no coriander available. Everything worked out well with cooking the ingredients together. The only thing I would say is if you don't like big chunks of veggies, make sure you dice everything up finely. My zucchini's were cut fairly big but it's fine now because they soften up after all the cooking is done and almost melt in your mouth. All in all, great recipe! And like someone said, it does make "tons" and is good to freeze for later if you want some for a night and then need to make something else for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I'm a new mom (age 36) and just learning how to cook! I tried this recipe, it took me a while to find all of the spices as I didn't own a single one of them ahead of time. I love spicy food and beans, so I used this recipe but added a can of black beans, a can of garbonzo beans and a can of kidney beans. I also added a TON of hot sauce (we love Tapatio sauce) to taste. It was so spicy it made my nose run.....just the way I like it. :) I loved the chunks of zucchini, never had them in chili before. Hearty and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Definitely need to add some beans, but this chili is AWESOME! I've been looking for the perfect chili recipe, and this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I made this recipe a few years ago, following it exactly. Since then, I've been tweaking it, but I still come back to this for reference. I don't add the taco seasoning, salsa or can of chili peppers - The salsa simply isn't needed and I replaced the canned chili peppers with a couple chopped hot peppers. I replace the taco seasoning with random individual spices - chili powder, cumin, cayenne pepper, garlic powder, etc... you get the idea. Still, LOVE the zucchini in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer McLarty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KatBerry
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
My husband loves this! I made this chili with a few changes and it was a huge hit with my very picky husband. I did not add the bell pepper or zucchini. I added 3 cloves of garlic, 1 can of light red kidney beans, and an extra teaspoon of chili pepper flakes. Nice and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 575) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States