Terrific Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
My husband never missed the beef! I couldn't believe it! I used very lean turkey and made my own "taco seasoning"....onion powder, garlic powder, chili powder, ground cumin, salt, pepper. I used a red bell because that is what i had. I left out the red pepper flakes. Next time, I will omit the salsa and use an extra can of tomato sauce, or something. I could taste salsa in there. It took away from the chili flavor. Not to mention, it made it too spicy for my 8 and 5 yo kids to eat. topped with cheese, green onion and avocado! Will definitely make again! Love the zucchini in there. Who would have thought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I made this recipe last night and I am VERY pleased with it. I am no chef by far and as I was cutting the vegetables up I got a chance to see that even more. I omitted some of the ingredients because my supermarket didn't have them (green onions, coriander, and tomato paste). I also forgot to add the diced tomatoes and I didn't have tomato paste so I used a small can of tomato sauce. Maybe there is a big difference but I doubt I would taste it as much. Also, I used a peppercorn blend that had coriander in it because there was no coriander available. Everything worked out well with cooking the ingredients together. The only thing I would say is if you don't like big chunks of veggies, make sure you dice everything up finely. My zucchini's were cut fairly big but it's fine now because they soften up after all the cooking is done and almost melt in your mouth. All in all, great recipe! And like someone said, it does make "tons" and is good to freeze for later if you want some for a night and then need to make something else for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I'm a new mom (age 36) and just learning how to cook! I tried this recipe, it took me a while to find all of the spices as I didn't own a single one of them ahead of time. I love spicy food and beans, so I used this recipe but added a can of black beans, a can of garbonzo beans and a can of kidney beans. I also added a TON of hot sauce (we love Tapatio sauce) to taste. It was so spicy it made my nose run.....just the way I like it. :) I loved the chunks of zucchini, never had them in chili before. Hearty and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Definitely need to add some beans, but this chili is AWESOME! I've been looking for the perfect chili recipe, and this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I made this recipe a few years ago, following it exactly. Since then, I've been tweaking it, but I still come back to this for reference. I don't add the taco seasoning, salsa or can of chili peppers - The salsa simply isn't needed and I replaced the canned chili peppers with a couple chopped hot peppers. I replace the taco seasoning with random individual spices - chili powder, cumin, cayenne pepper, garlic powder, etc... you get the idea. Still, LOVE the zucchini in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KatBerry
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
My husband loves this! I made this chili with a few changes and it was a huge hit with my very picky husband. I did not add the bell pepper or zucchini. I added 3 cloves of garlic, 1 can of light red kidney beans, and an extra teaspoon of chili pepper flakes. Nice and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Fabulous recipe. Like others, I replaced the zucchini with beans (1 can each of black, light kidney, and cannellini) and instead of turkey meat I went with the Boca crumbles (soy protein that's almost indistinguishable form ground turkey after it's cooked.). The texture was just right, the flavors were rich but mild enough that everyone could enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
My husband said it was the best chili I have ever made! He is such a picky eater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
You would never know it was turkey and not beef. I add a can of black beans and a can of corn. If I'm making it for my wife, I reduce the red pepper flakes by half. One of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Flavor was good but next time I will add less broth because it was a little watery. I also ended up adding the whole can of tomato paste to thicken it up a little. My husband also said that we should have added beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Burns Harbor, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 551) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States