Terrific Trail Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
My whole immediate family went camping this weekend and combined we have quite a few kids. This was a great and fun idea for snacking. I bought all kinds of fruits, nuts, seeds, cereal and candies, gave each child a ziploc bag and let them choose what they wanted in their bags. They loved it and even the adults made some bags too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
This was the perfect trail mix while hanging out at the campsite. I changed it a little. I added plain M&M's, and chocolate covered raisins. I also used a tropical berry fruit mix, and it was just plain yummy! Everyone who tried it, loved it! Good combination of energy, that's for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imaflipn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Loved how you can vary this to whatever you like. We did add the plain M&Ms as well as cashews and almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
We are trying to eat healthier and this is a snack that we are reaching for instead of chips, etc. I admit that I do add my M&M's and Reese's Pieces though ;-) This is a great recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I find this recipe to be perfect in any combination and quantity of the listed ingredients so feel free to adjust it to suit your taste, needs, or to what you have on hand. Also, note that if the weather is on the warmer side, any candy type addition, even M & M's will melt from the moisture released from the dried fruit. Everyone in the family really enjoyed this Thank you for sharing this recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This was easy, and left a lot of room for adapting for personal preferences. I love this recipe, and it saved me a lot of money making this myself. I love the sunflower seeds in it. I used mixed nuts, and also added m&ms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paw Paw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I used a package of mixed dried fruit: apricots, pears, apples and prunes. I did dried cranberries, sunflower seeds and honey roasted peanuts for the rest. It tastes pretty good, my daughter loves the dried fruits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
great balance of tastes and textures - not too sweet, not too sticky or crunchy, and my kids loved helping me mix it up. Made a big batch before our road trip and it was a great on-the-go snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
excellent mix. It gave me a great starting spot. I like a lot of variation so I added raisins and dried cranberries, and peanuts and walnuts. It was an instant hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dave W.
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Great recipe for hiking. Exact amounts are not important. I also added dried blueberries later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pretzels

A zesty marinade takes store-bought pretzels to the next level of snack heaven.

Fruit Dip II

A light, fluffy, super-easy dip with cream cheese and marshmallow crème.

Coconut Cashew Tuna Tartare

See how to make spicy tuna tartare with toasted cashews and coconut milk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States