Teriyaki Tofu with Pineapple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
The teriyaki was WAY too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
I bought pre-cubed EXTRA FIRM tofu for this. I drained the water and I didn't freeze it for 24 hours, but only till It was frozen , and left it in the fridge. I used Atkins Teryaki sauce, and it wasn't the least bit overpowering. I only added enough sauce to coat and slightly marinate the tofu. I also just layered the pineapples on the top and used about 1/2 cup of pineapple juice just incase. I marinated the tofu for about an hour. The problem with this recipe is, it has a very basic flavor. So try to spice it up a bit with a little seasoning (make sure it will mesh well with the pineapple and teryaki). Tofu taste like whatever it's cooked in so you don't have to use very much of anthing to get a good flavor. I cooked it in the over till it was bubbly, and I mixed it around a couple of times to coat the pineapple. After it was done cooking, I broiled it for about 5 minutes. I placed the tofu and pineapples on teriyaki noodles, and it was FABULOUS. even my dad enjoyed it and he isn't a big fan of tofu. If this recipe did not work for you, you must of done something wrong. Tofu is very hard to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
a little salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
my husband hated it, I thought it was okay except the pineapple was very bad, in fact I picked it out before I served it to my husband and he still hated it. btw he is the one who loves tofu in our family... sorry but it isn't for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
This is one of our favorites! However...we use low-sodium teriyaki sauce (homemade), we marinate the tofu overnight and the pineapple not at all, we drain all the marinade before baking with the pineapple and we serve it with steamed broccoli. I also do this side by side with marinated chunked up chicken for the non-tofu eaters in the group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
I love tofu, teriyaki sauce and pineapple, but this recipe didn't work. I used less sauce and diluted it with pineapple juice, but the teriyaki was overpowering and didn't soak into the tofu. I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
I make this recipe all the time. It is quick and easy. I have also tried it with a Sesame Ginger marinade. It is even better cold the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I've tried this twice. My husband really likes it, I don't really, so we've tied at 3 stars. First time I used cheap teriyaki sauce, the stuff that looks just like soy sauce. NOT A GOOD IDEA. It was awful. The second time I bought the thicker stuff (with sesame seeds) and it was better, admittedly. The pineapple is what makes this special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
This recipe is great! I brought it to a luau and the non-vegetarians there couldn't get enough, Even after I told them it was tofu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
This recipe was horrible. No one in the family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States