Teriyaki Tofu with Pineapple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
I bought pre-cubed EXTRA FIRM tofu for this. I drained the water and I didn't freeze it for 24 hours, but only till It was frozen , and left it in the fridge. I used Atkins Teryaki sauce, and it wasn't the least bit overpowering. I only added enough sauce to coat and slightly marinate the tofu. I also just layered the pineapples on the top and used about 1/2 cup of pineapple juice just incase. I marinated the tofu for about an hour. The problem with this recipe is, it has a very basic flavor. So try to spice it up a bit with a little seasoning (make sure it will mesh well with the pineapple and teryaki). Tofu taste like whatever it's cooked in so you don't have to use very much of anthing to get a good flavor. I cooked it in the over till it was bubbly, and I mixed it around a couple of times to coat the pineapple. After it was done cooking, I broiled it for about 5 minutes. I placed the tofu and pineapples on teriyaki noodles, and it was FABULOUS. even my dad enjoyed it and he isn't a big fan of tofu. If this recipe did not work for you, you must of done something wrong. Tofu is very hard to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
This recipe turned out ok, but 2 cups of teriyaki sauce is definitely too much. One cup is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
This was pretty good. I LOVE teriyaki and the tofu just sucks the flavor up. It was good with rice the first day, then cold on a salad the next day. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I was definitely not impressed with this recipe. The flavors sound promising, but the recipe will need to be altered to the point where it would become unrecognizable. If you do want to follow this recipe- I would not marinate the pineapple with the teriyaki. I would use very low sodium teriyaki and use only 1 cup. Use extra firm tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
This is one of our favorites! However...we use low-sodium teriyaki sauce (homemade), we marinate the tofu overnight and the pineapple not at all, we drain all the marinade before baking with the pineapple and we serve it with steamed broccoli. I also do this side by side with marinated chunked up chicken for the non-tofu eaters in the group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
This was great. I don't know what the one reviewer's talking about, but I loved it! A bit less sauce would work well too, but just as is works too. Tofu soaks up suaces so well and it was sweet, tangy and spicy. The pineapple is just perfect. If this does not come out right for you then you did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
My first tofu meal- and it turned out great! I will prepare this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
I used crushed pineapple, reduced the teriyaki to 1 cup and cooked the on the stove, adding in 1/2 cup cold water with cornstarch as a thickener. It was okay - tasted like very salty teriyaki tofu. Probably wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This was so good and so easy! I used a high quality teriyaki sauce and ended up pan frying it on the stove at a higher temp and let the tofu firm up and the teriyaki sauce reduce down a bit then served it with rice. Use a good quality sauce (I used Soy Vey teriyaki sauce) and it turns out great. I had other things baking in the oven so I used a non stick skillet and pretty much ended up stir frying it and it turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This was good I marinated my tofu for 24 hrs. and then add the pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States