Teriyaki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
This recipe is excellent. I needed a basting sauce so thickened it with 1 tablespoon cornstarch mixed with 1 tablespoon cold water. It thickened to just the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
This is an excellent sauce. Easy & better than store bought. If you don't have sake use extra mirin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
Very easy and very tastey! The second time I made it I added a pressed clove of garlic and tablespoon of grated ginger to make it my own. It's great the way it is and easy to modify to suit your taste.***I have made this recipe so many times now. It is so quick and full of flavor. It's great for any recipe that calls for teriyaki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I hate when people rate a recipe when they have changed the recipe even slightly. Try the recipe first to the letter, then rate it. If you try a recipe and change it, AND dont like it... DONT rate it... This was excellent. To thicken it I used cornstarch and water. Go slow though, you dont want it too thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela J Hagen-French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I must say, living here in Hawaii, I have never heard of a Teriyaki Sauce without fresh ginger and garlic! The recipe we use is 1:1 soy sauce and sugar (or splenda if you prefer). Grate the ginger and garlic to taste (more garlic than ginger) and add a splash of mirin. Cook until dissolved. We marinate chicken, beef and even pork in this sauce and it is wonderful. Sesame seeds are often added as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I decided to try this sauce and was very dissapointed with the taste espcially after seeing the great ratings it received. Initially I followed the recipe to the letter except i used reduced sodium soy sauce and it was still way too salty! I ended up doctoring it up by adding quite a bit of water,pineapple orange juice, and sugar to cut the saltiness. As other reviewers suggested i also added pressed garlic and ginger for flavor. Thanks but I think i'll keeping looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
My husband is a diabetic so I made this recipe and subbed 1 T agave nectar ( a diabetic sugar substitute) for the sugar and it came out just fine. Thanks, Kevin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Excellent! My husband cooked with this sauce...not only did it taste better than anything I tasted in a restaurant but he said it was very easy. He added corn starch/water mixture to thicken sauce and it was wonderful on steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
better than anything in the grocery store and a lot more versatile. a great base to make your own, or simple enough for perfect teriyaki chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I threw in some red pepper flakes. Put this on your boneless pork ribs, it will knock your socks off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States