Teriyaki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I hate when people rate a recipe when they have changed the recipe even slightly. Try the recipe first to the letter, then rate it. If you try a recipe and change it, AND dont like it... DONT rate it... This was excellent. To thicken it I used cornstarch and water. Go slow though, you dont want it too thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela J Hagen-French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
I made the mistake of trying to cook down this sauce in an attempt to thicken it. It turned out REALLY salty. I'll try it again as directed but I'll also use low sodium soy sauce and a bit more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I decided to try this sauce and was very dissapointed with the taste espcially after seeing the great ratings it received. Initially I followed the recipe to the letter except i used reduced sodium soy sauce and it was still way too salty! I ended up doctoring it up by adding quite a bit of water,pineapple orange juice, and sugar to cut the saltiness. As other reviewers suggested i also added pressed garlic and ginger for flavor. Thanks but I think i'll keeping looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
Very good! It's not thick and sticky like the stuff in a bottle. A great over-night marinade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shira

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I threw in some red pepper flakes. Put this on your boneless pork ribs, it will knock your socks off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
good. you can really taste the alcohol though. very thin too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Excellent! My husband cooked with this sauce...not only did it taste better than anything I tasted in a restaurant but he said it was very easy. He added corn starch/water mixture to thicken sauce and it was wonderful on steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This is a really good, simple base recipe you can play with. I added approx 1/2 tspn. minced ginger and a clove of pressed garlic to boost the flavour. I also added 2 Tbspn. fresh crushed pineapple to cut some of the saltiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
This Is Very GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
Very easy and very tastey! The second time I made it I added a pressed clove of garlic and tablespoon of grated ginger to make it my own. It's great the way it is and easy to modify to suit your taste.***I have made this recipe so many times now. It is so quick and full of flavor. It's great for any recipe that calls for teriyaki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States