Teriyaki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I must say, living here in Hawaii, I have never heard of a Teriyaki Sauce without fresh ginger and garlic! The recipe we use is 1:1 soy sauce and sugar (or splenda if you prefer). Grate the ginger and garlic to taste (more garlic than ginger) and add a splash of mirin. Cook until dissolved. We marinate chicken, beef and even pork in this sauce and it is wonderful. Sesame seeds are often added as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I had cooked a pre-marinated teriyaki pork tenderloin, and they always scream out a desire for a sauce, so I did a quick search and the simplicity of this convinced me. I've had a hard time finding an asian market where I live, but I did manage to find mirin at a local supermarket. Unfortunately, I can't seem to find sake. I simply substituted mirin for the 1/4 cup of sake, substituted honey for sugar, added about 1/4 cup finely chopped scallions, 1 tsp chili garlic sauce, a dash of coriander, ground ginger and pre-made five spice, and about a tsp of corn starch whisked into some reserved soy sauce. While the sauce began to bubble as the starch thickened things, I whisked in about 1/2 Tbsp of toasted sesame seed oil and some orange zest. Once it bubbled for about a minute and a half I removed from the heat and let it sit for another minute. The thickness was perfect, and the taste was absolutely amazing. Once I find some sake locally, I'll be sure to try it with just the four ingredients listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I couldn't find my sake so I used all mirin like someone suggested. It tasted great like that. But I also listened to other reviews and added fresh ginger, crushed garlic and dried chili peppers. Very tasty, will make again. Look forward to finding my sake! Edit: I marinated my cooked meatballs in this and they were a disaster. We ate some because we were hungry, but threw the rest out. Tasted awful. Next time I'll use the sake and not leave the meatballs in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I used the sauce for my teriyaki burger...i thickened it up by putting a couple of teaspoons of cornstarch and added some pineapple chunks and pineapple juice. Not to be used as marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Turned out perfect! I made it once just like the recipe states, and then once adding grated ginger and a little crushed garlic. Both were fantastic. I found Mirin Wine at my local HMart store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This is a great quick recipe that I used to marinade salmon in. Gave the fish a wonderful amber color and really fragrant flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellygrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Money!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyfarfar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I put a little extra variety of dried peppers, it was incredible!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Really a great teriyaki sauce. My husband, who was raised Japanese , and is very picky about that kind of thing, loved it. It is a little on the salty side, so I think I'll used low sodium soy sauce next time. I did thicken it with corn starch-great tip, thanks for that one, and I used the sauce to make chicken teriyaki rice bowls. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This is a great quick sauce, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States