Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
The only way this sauce fulfilled the requirements for teriyaki is for its luster ("teri"), which was only due to the mirin. This was horribly bland, and did not grill or broil well (as teriyaki is supposed to). If you are looking to make teriyaki, it would be much better to buy the premade bottled stuff at your regular grocery store, and add brown sugar, garlic, and spices to it yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teenage Food Affair

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Incredible flavor! I am from Hawaii and this is teriyaki sauce at its finest. My family prefers this over any name brand teriyaki bottled sauce. Great for making stir fry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j9kapolei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This is the best teriyaki sauce ever! (And I've tried ALOT from home made to bottled!) I split the recipe in half... I didn't have rice vinegar so I used white and used ground ginger from my spice rack. It was super yummy! Marinated my chicken, steak and shrimp in it then cooked in a pan over medium-high heat. I cooked it until the meat had soaked up most of the juices. Then added the meat and sauce to my fried rice. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I have four kids and in the rare event (and if you have kids, you know how rare this is) that all four of them like it, then it's a certified success! We made this without the red pepper flakes. We stirfried a bag of frozen stirfy vegetables and some Gardein Beefless Tips (we're vegetarian) and it was a big hit! It's a keeper - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
i added 1 tablespoon of chili paste instead of pepper and red pepper flakes, increased the sugar by a smidge and used red wine vinegar instead of mirin. Also used corn starch to thicken. It was awesome. Served with salmon stirfry. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Flavor was good, but too salty. I added cornstarch to thicken it and the consistency was good. I did use regular soy sauce, if I make it again I would use low sodium soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homedale, Idaho, USA
Living In: Dundee, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
OMG!!!!! There's a popular thick bottled teriyaki basting sauce that's been my favorite for years. Not any more! I used this recipe the other evening for my Grilled Teriyaki Chicken and Stir Fry Vegetables. I added green onion to the seasonings and put the cooked sauce mixture in a blender. I set aside some to add to the veggie stir fry and my pan fried noodles. I thickened the rest with cornstarch and basted my marinated chicken breasts while they were on the grill. I experimented with the marinade, using minced ginger, onion and garlic, soy sauce, rice vinegar, a drop or two of sesame oil, a touch of mirin and a bit of peanut oil. It was without question the most sensational dish I have ever prepared! I love Japanese and Asian cuisine, and I have to say, this tasted better than anything I've ever ordered from a restaurant or take-out joint. It just tasted so authentic. Thank you so much for posting this recipe! If anybody wants to know my vegetable stir fry mix, let me know and I'll post it. Scott
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
FANTASTIC! Even my overly sensitive child loved it! Didn't have rice wine so I used Muscato (sweet white table wine) instead and used brown sugar instead of white for a little more depth in taste. No more purchased Teriyaki sauce for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Very delicious! i use this as marinade for salmon, or thin sliced beef with some stir fry veggies and calrose rice, and heat it up and drizzle it over. Tastes like Edo Japan! i find it is better without the minced garlic though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
thanx for the recipe. i've used it a few times now, but change things. thought i would leave that note. i don't have the wine so i use chicken broth. i don't use any oil. also, i use apple cider vinegar. every thing else is the same. however, i will add some fruit if i have it. last time i used tangerines and they were so good. i've used pineapple. today, i have an orange. i'm sure it will be excellent. i will never purchase teriyaki sauce again in my life. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States