Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I guess I will give Celeste the benefit of the doubt because she defended herself by stating this is authentic Japanese teriyaki...those of us looking for more of a sweet Teriyaki sauce should have paid attention I guess...this stuff is so salty, Maybe use as a marinade, definitely too salty for me, the ginger, vinegar, mirin help but not enough..dont know how Im gonna fix it, probably with pineapple juice and maybe honey and will thicken with cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Delicious easy.. I used it with the teriyaki pulled pork recipe here on AR
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
a lot like bulgoki
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANDINGO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Awesome sauce and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Perfect! So much tastier than teriyaki sauce out of a bottle... but probably also pricier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
For those who said that this is too salty, there is no added salt so I don't see where it can be too salty. Soy sauce has plenty of salt, but not too much for most people. And the soy sauce is cut by rice wine & vinegar and other stuff. I never had lite soy sauce, but maby the people that said it's too salty only use lite soy sauce but used regular soy sauce on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This recipe is fantastic! I reduce the sugar by half and it still comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williams, California, USA
Living In: Waikoloa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I modified it a little by adding 1/3 cup hoisin sauce instead of adding the 2/3 cup mirin. Absolutely yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I am an American so maybe thats why I was disappointed by this highly rated teriyaki sauce. I followed according to instructions and I would have to say this was extremely salty. Would probably make a real good recipy for curing and drying meat. I did use La Choy brand and I think I will go back to Kikkoman soy sauce. but that said I am going off of the idea that I wanted sticky sweet, spicey teriyaki..... think - Panda express, teriyaki stix type resteraunts. Probably more Hawaiin style I guess. I don't know but if that is what traditional japanese teriyaki is then I am sorry I am just not cultured enough. Thanks I will keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I liked this recipe as a marinade for chicken. I followed the measurements, but went a bit scant on the soy sauce. To make it into a sauce, I boiled it down, added some honey, and then thickened it with a bit of cornstarch mixed with cold water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States