Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I made just as written (using Shoyu, an organic naturally brewed soy sauce) and it was so salty if knocked my socks off. I wonder if people are using different soy brands hence the varied reviews. I added 1/2 c. pineapple juice and 1/2 c. water and I'll use it, but I"m worried about cooking it down when stir frying. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
One of the best Teriyaki Sauces/ marinade ever. Full flavour and it's simple and basic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Excellent and easy! Kids loved it! Make sure you watch the mirin so it doesn't caramelize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Agree that it was a bit salty. But cut in a little honey, pinch of orange zest and a squeeze of fresh orange juice. And, man-Oh-man! Were those some tasty country ribs braised in it!! Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I found this recipe to be too salty. I halved the recipe when I made it. To the half recipe, I added 1tsp cornstarch dissolved in 1/4 cup water. I added the water cornstarch solution gradually when the sauce was boiling vigorously, and immediately turned the heat down after that. I also added an additional 1-2 tablespoons light brown sugar. The water did an OK job of taking care of the overwhelming saltiness, the cornstarch thickened the sauce nicely, and the brown sugar mellowed the flavor out a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I didn't have any mirin, but I substituted a bit of water and a bit more sugar (I used brown sugar) and this sauce turned out great! I also added some corn starch to thicken it a bit. Could have used a bit more perhaps, but flavor-wise, this was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Delicious! I thinned out my regular soy sauce w/water, and added about 2 T cornstarch at the end (mixed w/1/4 cup cold water) to thicken it up. Served over brown rice and steamed vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This recipe is fantastic! I used it to marinate chicken wings for a party and it was a hit. No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I have used this recipe many times for chicken marinade for the past couple years; twice for BBQ's with approx 50+ guests and it has been a hit with both adults & the children each time! We did have to substitute the Japanese sweet rice wine with regular white wine this last BBQ, but it still tasted great! This is now my "go to" teriyaki marinade from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This is absolutely wonderful. It is so versatile. I have used it on tofu, tempeh, chicken, salmon....the list just goes on and it turns out wonderful each time! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States