Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
This is one of the best home-made teriyaki sauces I have had... they are very difficult to flavor properly without being too salty and this one, made with Low Sodium Soy Sauce and thickened with two tbsp. of corn starch mixed in a little water to form a paste is very close to restaurant teriyaki. Be careful though - too much garlic will qickly overpower this sauce. Another great addition is half an onion carmelized in the ginger and sugar, set to simmer in the Mirin. MMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Oh, for ten stars! Wonderful, wonderful recipe - never had teriyaki sauce this good! We followed the recipe exactly. We found the mirin and the rice vinegar in the natural foods section of our grocery store. DO use all the garlic and DO use fresh ginger! Thank you, Celeste! (I HAD to use that beautiful name! My daughter is Genevieve!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Silver Bay, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Colfax, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This is the best teriyaki sauce ever made! I substituted 2 teaspoons of hot chili oil instead of the black pepper and red pepper flakes and ended up with a the most flavorful, perfectly spicy sauce ever. The spice factor lessens while cooking so up to a tablespoon or more of the chili oil could be added. I can't imagine anyone would want to reduce this sauce as it is so flavorful, so to thicken it I add a cornstarch/water mixture while I am cooking with it. Wonderful proportions and very versitile; also good with a little onion. Better than any Chinese restaurant-that's for sure! Update: I recently took this sauce out of my fridge after sitting for about a month and let me tell you! It is even better - if that is at all possible!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Delicious! I thickened it up with cornstarch and water like others did and it is fantastic as a marinade or dipping sauce for gyoza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Hands down the very best teriyaki sauce I have ever had, and that's saying a lot, coming from this 20+ year veteran chef! The only change I made was to add 2 tsp cornstarch dissolved in a small amount of cold water, added to the final simmer. This gave the sauce a little body and helped it cling to the meat. Marinated a top round steak in it for about 4 hours. Teriyaki lovers, take note. Be sure to bookmark this recipe, as it's absolutely phenomenal! Many thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
How tasty! I was excited to see that this recipe was created by someone named Celeste! I have the same name, and it is rare to find someone else named Celeste. The sauce was perfect. I used it as a marinade and a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
this sauce is better than the one freshly made at one of our favorite restaurants. do not pass it up! it's good with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Great sauce!! followed the recipe to the T. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This sauce really is the best teriyaki sauce/marinade recipe. It reminds me of the authentic Hawaiian teriyaki (and that stuff is great). CHANGES: I never use the rice wine and don't think that it is needed. Use 1/3 c. honey instead of sugar for a fuller flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Addison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I used Splenda to make it healthier, and added more crushed red pepper for flavor. I marinated chicken and cooked with broccoli, water chestnuts, garlic, and a touch of ginger (and more red pepper of course). My boyfriend cleaned his plate and then the pan I cooked in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CIGALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States