Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2007
This came out great, used on broiled salmon, tasted just like a Japenese resturant. I did sprinkle with sesame seed when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
This is a really tasty teriyaki. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because it was a little too salty and I used low sodium soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
This is one of the best home-made teriyaki sauces I have had... they are very difficult to flavor properly without being too salty and this one, made with Low Sodium Soy Sauce and thickened with two tbsp. of corn starch mixed in a little water to form a paste is very close to restaurant teriyaki. Be careful though - too much garlic will qickly overpower this sauce. Another great addition is half an onion carmelized in the ginger and sugar, set to simmer in the Mirin. MMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
How tasty! I was excited to see that this recipe was created by someone named Celeste! I have the same name, and it is rare to find someone else named Celeste. The sauce was perfect. I used it as a marinade and a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Oh, for ten stars! Wonderful, wonderful recipe - never had teriyaki sauce this good! We followed the recipe exactly. We found the mirin and the rice vinegar in the natural foods section of our grocery store. DO use all the garlic and DO use fresh ginger! Thank you, Celeste! (I HAD to use that beautiful name! My daughter is Genevieve!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Silver Bay, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Colfax, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Excellent recipe! Only thing i would change is to use light/reduced sodium soy sauce instead because it came out a little on the salty side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
this sauce is better than the one freshly made at one of our favorite restaurants. do not pass it up! it's good with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Great sauce!! followed the recipe to the T. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This is the best teriyaki sauce ever made! I substituted 2 teaspoons of hot chili oil instead of the black pepper and red pepper flakes and ended up with a the most flavorful, perfectly spicy sauce ever. The spice factor lessens while cooking so up to a tablespoon or more of the chili oil could be added. I can't imagine anyone would want to reduce this sauce as it is so flavorful, so to thicken it I add a cornstarch/water mixture while I am cooking with it. Wonderful proportions and very versitile; also good with a little onion. Better than any Chinese restaurant-that's for sure! Update: I recently took this sauce out of my fridge after sitting for about a month and let me tell you! It is even better - if that is at all possible!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Delicious! I thickened it up with cornstarch and water like others did and it is fantastic as a marinade or dipping sauce for gyoza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States