Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I was looking for something to used with stir fry and this came up. I'm gluten intolerant so must use a gluten free soy sauce when cooking. Store bought teriyaki cannot be trusted. The changes I made were quite a few. I used plain old white zin for the wine, and only 1/3 cup. I used a half cup gluten free soy sauce. Plus I added a dash of fish sauce. I added all of the liquid ingredients together and let it simmer for about 10 mins. All the solid ingredients went in next. Because I didn't have fresh ginger, I added three candied gingers and a couple dashes of powdered ginger. I also used brown sugar instead of white. This turned out GREAT and was a perfect compliment to my stir fry. I'd give it five stars, but I made a lot of changes. I didn't think the recipe needed a full cup of soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skitzoid Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This is a great sauce. I ended up using marsala wine since I didn't have any mirin on hand. The only other change I made was to add some corn starch to it to thicken it, because I like sauces to be thick. My son couldn't get enough and he is super picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Great recipe. I cut the sugar by substituting Mirin with real Sake and a dash of pineapple juice. I also used raw cane sugar rather than white refined sugar. This gave the sauce more caramelization. I added a tablespoon of hot Thai chile sauce to the simmer as well. Perfect balance between sweet/salt/heat. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
A perfect teriyaki sauce! I like adding pineapple juice at the second simmer for variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This recipe is so perfect. I had never ued Mirin before making this and was kind of nervous bc I didn't even know what it was. Turned out great! The only change I made is to use brown sugar rather than white. Give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This was so delicious! I didn't have the Mirin Wine, so I substituted Sherry Wine with 2 TBSP of sugar (googled what can be substituted and it gave me this). My kids (5,4 & 19 months) LOVED it as well as my hubby. Thank you for sharing, I will NEVER buy again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Smelled wonderful while it was simmering. Used in another recipe, but would try on its own next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Delicious! If you are used to authentic asian food you'll love it. More american taste buds may find it salty, but you can either cut the soy sauce or use low sodium. DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Super easy to make, and absolutely delicious. When you think of teriyaki sauce, this tastes like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeamBier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Very good flavor. I didn't have fresh ginger so I substituted some ground ginger, about a teaspoon since dried is always more potent. This would be a great marinade, but for a sauce I found it a bit thin. I added two teaspoons of arrowroot to about 1 teaspoon of cold water and put that in the mixture and it thickened up nicer, I probably should have added a little more. You can substitute cornstarch for arrowroot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States