Teriyaki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I substituted vinegar and chicken broth for the sherry as other reviewers suggested and this turned out really well. Very tasty and moist chicken breasts from the grill! Will use this recipe again, but may use reduced salt soy sauce as it was a bit salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Very good! I cut the sugar in half and found it plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This had very good flavor, but was way too salty - next time I will probably use at least 1/4 less soy, maybe 1/2 and supplement with veggie stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
i will def use this again!!!! my family loved it! i tried making teriyaki from scratch plenty of times with "HONTERI"- never eeven close to as good as this! the only change i made is i used kikkoman teriyaki marinade instead of soy sauce. its basically the same thing with some added ingredients "onion powder, garlic powder, spices"....un-freekin believable. i used thin cuts of tri-tip, and boneless chicken boob..barely marinated it for 30 minutes, and pan cooked it, when it cooked dry i added more marinade...SO GOOD!!! served with egg rolls and white rice- i def use it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Very good. I don't keep cooking sherry around, so I subbed 2 tbsp chicken broth and 2 tbsp rice wine vinegar (I think you could use any "sweet" vinegar). Very good as a marinade for chicken. We make this all the time - it's our "go to" meal (usually put on chicken) when we are craving Chinese type food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I just love this! I have used this with chicken, tofu and pork and it is delicious. I use brown sugar instead of white and it comes out perfect! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Made 3 servings (used 1/2 amt of Harveys Bristol Cream Sherry (non-cooking style - all I had on hand) and used on 2 BBQ'd salmon steaks (generous amout of marinade - enough to add to rice for 2). Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This was a great sauce. I used it on turkey cutlets and my family loved it. I did not have sherry so I used vegetable broth and turned out wonderful. UMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Campbell, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Didn’t have cooking sherry so we substituted rice wine vinegar. Very good & flavorful base sauce that would pair well w/ any poultry, meat, fish or vegetable. Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
A very nice, flavorful basic sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casserole Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States