Teriyaki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Have made this several times with no changes. Makes a great marinade for beef, and is excellent over rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herriman, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This was okay. I tasted it after mixing it and decided it needed about 2 Tbsp Sucanat, 3 Tbsp. rice wine vinegar, and 1/3 cup pineapple juice. Then it was juuuuuuust about perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
What a great and easy recipe. I make it on the healthy side though. Instead of soy sauce I used Bragg Liquid Aminos (a soy sauce alternative) and used splenda instead of sugar. My boyfriend, who is very picky, said the teriyaki sauce had a really great flavor. For him to say that it had to be really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Gilloren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Derby, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Exactly what I was looking for! We all know how American's love their sugar, so of course I did add 1/2 Tbsp more of sugar. I didn't have sherry, so I added a little orange juice instead. I'm sure it's even better with the sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Too much soy/sodium. We even used lite soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob and Ash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Oh my god, this is so delish! I used fresh grated ginger and some white wine (pino grigio) because I didn't have sherry. So good. I just boiled rice and veggies and poured this over the top, incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEAK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
We usually use the bottled sauce but didn't realize we were out until supper was underway. I jumped on here and found this. It tasted just great and saved the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I decided to hunt down a recipe for teriyaki sauce when I was in the middle of something that called for it (Anniversary Chicken I from this site). I usually just sub soy sauce. It tastes like a very tangy soy sauce, and soy sauce is already tangy. (Word of advice: just cook with it and don't "taste test" it like I did -- took a while to shake that one off. :-)) I did a bit of reading to see how authentic this was, and looks as though the soy sauce to sherry ratio is way high. Sherry isn't authentic but a reasonable substitute. But THEN I looked at the stuff in the store later and most of it was pretty "fake" anyway. So I figure, even if it isn't exactly what you'd find in a Japanese restaurant, it's still a lot like what you'd find in a typical store. It came in handy when I needed it, and worked well in the recipe, so it gets a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Very basic and delicious and easy sauce. If you are using Kikoman Soy sauec it may be too salty, and you should either use light soy, or use half soy and half water like me! Tasted great after that and I used it as part of the Teriyaki and Pineapple Chicken recipe found here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spencersays

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Very good! Substituted white wine vinegar for the sherry and it was still ok. Probably would cut back a smidge on the soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loisln77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States