Teriyaki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I decided to hunt down a recipe for teriyaki sauce when I was in the middle of something that called for it (Anniversary Chicken I from this site). I usually just sub soy sauce. It tastes like a very tangy soy sauce, and soy sauce is already tangy. (Word of advice: just cook with it and don't "taste test" it like I did -- took a while to shake that one off. :-)) I did a bit of reading to see how authentic this was, and looks as though the soy sauce to sherry ratio is way high. Sherry isn't authentic but a reasonable substitute. But THEN I looked at the stuff in the store later and most of it was pretty "fake" anyway. So I figure, even if it isn't exactly what you'd find in a Japanese restaurant, it's still a lot like what you'd find in a typical store. It came in handy when I needed it, and worked well in the recipe, so it gets a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Very basic and delicious and easy sauce. If you are using Kikoman Soy sauec it may be too salty, and you should either use light soy, or use half soy and half water like me! Tasted great after that and I used it as part of the Teriyaki and Pineapple Chicken recipe found here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spencersays

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Very good! Substituted white wine vinegar for the sherry and it was still ok. Probably would cut back a smidge on the soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loisln77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Great! Took the advice of another reviewer and used red wine vinegar and chicken broth to take place of the sherry. Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Easy and tasty. I used this recipe to make Teriyaki Onion Burgers from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I just made this sauce and it's excellent and easy! The chicken breasts are marinating and I'm firing up the grill. Won't my Honey be surprised when he gets home! He always orders this when he sees it on a menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Su Su

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Last night I was in a pinch and needed teriyaki sauce. OMG! This is so good. I heated it in a sauce pan to help the sugar dissolve, while I stir fried some veggies and noodles, and this was great. I even added some red pepper flakes for a kick. You will never buy teriyaki sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I needed teriyaki sauce for a recipe, but we never have it in the house. I was pleased to find that I could easily make my own with ingredients I have in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Very good. I used 1 tsp minced ginger instead of ground. Excellent on Chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendynik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Very salty when made according to the recipe. When made with less salt it is bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States