Teriyaki Onion Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I have been known to embellish a recipe but this is ridiculous! If you don't add the french fried onions and add onion soup mix instead and if you dump a bunch of other marinades in the mix then you are not rating THIS recipe you are rating YOUR OWN! Why not try it as stated THEN rate it or just don't rate it at all. That being said, I made this recipe AS STATED and found that it did indeed need garlic, salt, pepper. Grilled pineapple sounds nice too. But that is a total different recipe!!! I rated it a 3 because it's a good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Show Low, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I added fresh minced garlic to the meat/teriyaki mixture and let it mainade in the fridge for at least two hours before adding the french fried onions, and making the patties. Also, my local market has a teriyaki/wasabi mainade, it is made by ESSENSIA, and carried by Albertsons. It adds a nice kick above the standard teriyaki. Durring BBq'ing, I glazed the patties with the extra teriyaki/wasabi, and opted for sharp cheaddar cheese, these modifications with the bolder flavors took this burger over the top. while the burgers were finishing up cooking I grilled up some pineapple rings I had basted in hot vietnameese fry sauce, but you can just as easily baste them in a vegtable oil/grill spice blend, it really adds a beautiful sweet/spicy topper for the finnished burgers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
On a whim, I tried these; told my family the hamburgers had a secret ingredient. My daughter, who never likes my burgers, said they were the best burgers she's ever had. My husband, who like his burgers plain with no seasoning, said they were great. The only change I made was to season about 2 lbs of meat using these ingredients instead of one. I don't think my family will let me try anything new again, they are so sold on this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
WOW!!!Delicious! Upon others' advice, I marinated the beef for two hours after I added the teriyaki sauce AND minced garlic. Also, I used dried onion soup mix I had on hand instead of the french fried onions-but only about a third of the packet for fear it would be too salty. Also, I fried them in a skillet instead of griling. Talk about juicy!! Tasty, easy and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
My family absolutely loved these burgers! I didn't have Teriyaki marinade so I used a mixture of Teriyaki sauce and light brown sugar. I mixed that and the crumbled french fried onions into the ground chuck and let it sit in the fridge for about 4 hours. My husband cooked them on a charcoal grill and I have to say, they were absolutely deliciou! Very juicy with an incredible flavor! Instead of cheddar we used Provolone. I thought a little horseradish sauce would taste good but was out of that too so mixed some horseradish with mayonnaise and these were by far the BEST burgers I have ever had! Hubby ate it with no condiments and and raved! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I made it as is. Good base to start and you can "do your own thing" to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This is such a great and super simple starter recipe. I made it using ground turkey, 1/4 cup of sesame ginger Lowry's marinade, a smidgen more minced ginger and a finely chopped and sauteed medium yellow onion. Cut down on the fat even more by serving the burger topped w/ sauteed mushrooms instead of cheese. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Sorry but this was not my favorite burger. The consistancy was to mushy. I doubled the recipe and i used 6 oz. can of the onions and maybe I shouldnt have used all of that can - I think that is what made the meat mushy. The consistancy was like a mushy meatloaf. The flavor was ok it still needed something though - something with a punch. On the other hand my husband liked them and said they were the most flavorful hamburger that we have ever made. So we had 2 totally different opinions. I am thinking grilled pineapple with this burger would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STRAWBERRY02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
VERY moist and flavorful burger! I marinated for 1 hour in the fridge with teriyaki sauce, worchestershire sauce and liquid smoke, then added the onions. My family really liked this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2004
We liked these but not as well as some other ways we have made burgers. I will try again adding a little liquid smoke and green chili peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States