Teriyaki Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2005
very yummy. i made a few changes...i substituted 2 cloves of fresh garlic chopped instead of garlic powder and i used brown sugar instead of white. i added a few teaspoons of cornstarch and cooked until thick and bubbly (just a few minutes) to make it more of a sauce consistency. when cooled i marinated my chicken and it turned out wonderful. you need to marinate for a few hours at least to get the flavor into the chicken, but it was good to used some of the reserved marinade (not used on the chicken) for your rice or a dipping sauce for egg rolls!! i will definately make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I substituted onion powder for the flakes and left out the ginger as I didn't have any. The sauce/marinade tasted just like the kind you can buy in the supermarket. I only used half of the marinade and stored the rest in the fridge with no problems. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coot226
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
I used boneless skinless chicken breasts. Marinated them for 7-8 hours in the fridge. Cooked them on George Foreman grill and they turned out GREAT!They were so tender and moist and Full of flavor - yummy - chicken can be so tasteless- Not this time - It was soo good - My husband loved it, Thank you for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coot226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
At last... a replacement for those expensive store-bought sauces! Like other reviewers, I thickened with corn starch. It makes a lot, so I only used a small amount of the (unthickened) sauce to marinate chicken, then added the rest (with cornstarch mixed in) to the stir fry, just before it was done. Then simmered a minute, or two, to thicken and remove the corn starch taste. Yummy; thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
Loved this marinade - used it on chicken drumsticks and then put it on the grill. I used onion powder instead of onion flakes..Nice and Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
This is great stuff. I also use it for stir-fry sauce for beef-broccoli and chicken-broccoli dishes. I just thicken a bit at the end of cook time. I have also used splenda and it works fine! Thanks Mary~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
Wonderful marinade, and simple to make......I know this recipe by heart, and use it on almost everything!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
Best steak marinade I have ever tried. On tougher meats I try to let them marinade for 48 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
This was great. I used it as the marinade for the Hawaiian chicken recipe and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This was good, but could use a little tweaking. I really didn't have time to mess with it this morning though I did use brown sugar and I used fresh chopped green onion and fresh minced garlic. I think that made a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Easy Grilled Chicken Teriyaki

Tender and juicy grilled teriyaki chicken.

Fajita Marinade I

See how to make a 5-star marinade for fabulous steak fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States