Teriyaki Marinade with Ginger and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
A tasty, quick to throw together recipe. The only thing I did differently was substitute brown sugar for honey. I used it on beef, sliced up for stir fry. On the side I added some cornstarch to the marinade, cooked it, and added it to the stir fry beef and veg. The marinade was good with the beef, when thickened, made a good stir fry sauce. I like the Baked Teriyaki Chicken recipe from this site for chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I used this on a salmon fillet and chunks of tuna that I grilled tonight, it was delicious. I have to admit that I subbed sherry for the white wine and tasted it and was not sure I liked it, so I squeezed in half of a fresh lime and that made it very good, in my opinion. I will make it again and add in the fresh citrus again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I used this marinade for stir fry sauce. I double the sauce, Substituted water for the white wine and added some brown sugar. Then I mixed 3 tablespoons corstarch with a little water added to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Really good marinade! I used it on strips of beef that I skewered then grilled after marinating about 2 hours. I used light soy sauce and rice wine vinegar instead of the vinegar and wine. The seasonings are dead on, great blend of flavors, although I feel regular soy sauce would have been too salty. Next time I use this for beef I will use brown sugar or maybe add a little molasses instead of honey to be closer to out favorite takeout beef teriyaki. I think the honey version would be best on chicken. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This marinade was so delicious! I think that it would have been even better if I hadn't marinaded it for so long. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrine

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
This marinade is fabulous - teriyaki tastes so much better made from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
This was all right but a little bit more tangy and acidic tasting than I was hoping for. The teriyaki marinade III on this website tasted better to me. I also added a 1/4c of O.J. and a little more honey to decrease the tanginess. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I've used this on salmon and pork tenderloin and it's really senational. I wouldn't hesitate to use it on chicken as well. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Excellent marinade for beef, chicken or salmon. This last time, I used rice vinegar instead of red wine vinegar, left out the white wine because I didn't have any, and used barley malt instead of honey. This turned out to be quite tasty on the salmon I grilled. Next time I might try molasses, which is pretty similar to barley malt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Hyphenated Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
Very nice teriyaki recipe. The only thing I would change next time would be to decrease the amount of ginger. I did not have red-wine vinegar and used regular white vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fajita Marinade I

See how to make a 5-star marinade for fabulous steak fajitas.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States