Teriyaki Marinade with Ginger and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Very tasty...I made a few changes though: opt for 1 TBSP sherry cooking wine & 1 TBSP rice vinegar for the 1/4 C white wine vinegar, and use 3 TBSP brown sugar instead of 2 TBSP honey. I used this to marinade my beef for a stir-fry... DELICIOUS!! (Note: I used cayenne pepper as a substitution for red pepper flakes, and it worked just fine)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
A tasty, quick to throw together recipe. The only thing I did differently was substitute brown sugar for honey. I used it on beef, sliced up for stir fry. On the side I added some cornstarch to the marinade, cooked it, and added it to the stir fry beef and veg. The marinade was good with the beef, when thickened, made a good stir fry sauce. I like the Baked Teriyaki Chicken recipe from this site for chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I used this on a salmon fillet and chunks of tuna that I grilled tonight, it was delicious. I have to admit that I subbed sherry for the white wine and tasted it and was not sure I liked it, so I squeezed in half of a fresh lime and that made it very good, in my opinion. I will make it again and add in the fresh citrus again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I used this marinade for stir fry sauce. I double the sauce, Substituted water for the white wine and added some brown sugar. Then I mixed 3 tablespoons corstarch with a little water added to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Really good marinade! I used it on strips of beef that I skewered then grilled after marinating about 2 hours. I used light soy sauce and rice wine vinegar instead of the vinegar and wine. The seasonings are dead on, great blend of flavors, although I feel regular soy sauce would have been too salty. Next time I use this for beef I will use brown sugar or maybe add a little molasses instead of honey to be closer to out favorite takeout beef teriyaki. I think the honey version would be best on chicken. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This marinade was so delicious! I think that it would have been even better if I hadn't marinaded it for so long. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrine

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
This marinade is fabulous - teriyaki tastes so much better made from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
This was all right but a little bit more tangy and acidic tasting than I was hoping for. The teriyaki marinade III on this website tasted better to me. I also added a 1/4c of O.J. and a little more honey to decrease the tanginess. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I've used this on salmon and pork tenderloin and it's really senational. I wouldn't hesitate to use it on chicken as well. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Excellent marinade for beef, chicken or salmon. This last time, I used rice vinegar instead of red wine vinegar, left out the white wine because I didn't have any, and used barley malt instead of honey. This turned out to be quite tasty on the salmon I grilled. Next time I might try molasses, which is pretty similar to barley malt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Hyphenated Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks

See how to make a simple marinade for tender, flavorful grilled steaks.

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Fajita Marinade I

See how to make a 5-star marinade for fabulous steak fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States