Teriyaki Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
We loved this recipe. I used the suggestions of other reviewers: 1/4 cup water, 1 cup pineapple juice, and while the wings were in the oven I boiled the marinade to reduce it and thickened it with corn starch. Once the wings were done I tossed them in the sauce reduction and they were very flavorful. (I can see how these wouldn't have much flavor if you ate them after being cooked, without tossing them in the sauce.) Lots of flavor....maybe a bit too sweet. Will probably put in less sugar next time. We will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
These were a big hit at my football party tonight! I made 3 lbs of these and 3 lbs of buffalo wings, but I should have made all of the wings this way. They disappeared fast! Other reviewers suggested using more pineapple juice and less water, so I used 1/4 cup of water and a full cup of pineapple juice. I also used only 3/4 cup of soy sauce (all I had left) and a few shakes of ground ginger rather than a full tablespoon of fresh. I marinaded the wings for about 3 hours. They came out superb!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
These were okay. They had great aroma, but not a ton of flavor like I was expecting form the smell that produced. If I make them again I will try to make the sauce thicker by using less water and maybe using brown sugar instead of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I use no water at all, more pineapple juice, and no oil. I dredge in flour then fry my wings. I omit white sugar and use brown sugar... gives it more of a smoky sweetness, rather then just sugary sweet. And I also cook down the marinade, then toss the wings to coat after being fried, and broil in the oven for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
HOLY CHICKEN WINGS BATMAN!!!! I was a little nervous on making this recipe, because I really dont like the taste of pineapples. But man oh man, I am glad I did. I marinated for the hour and then while the wings were cooking, I made more of the marinade, excluding the veggie oil, and simmered it on the stovetop, reducing it by half or until thick. And then tossed the wings, in it, once they were done. I will definitely make this with more wings the next time, because everyone in my house gobbled up more than they said they would!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelBaToast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
These are my go-to for the IndyCar races--it's become a tasty ritual. I generally use frozen wing pieces, thawed, and marinated overnight, but whole wings also work very well. In fact, I've done nearly every part of the bird with great success. Just adjust the cooking time for bigger bit. A lot of the time I'll put the remaining marinade in a saucier and boil it down while the chicken is baking and toss it in the blender to make a smooth sauce. It's just too good to waste. With about twenty minutes left, drown the chicken again. This makes eating a bit messy, but it tastes out-of-this-world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenwellcm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This recipe rocks! My family loved this especially my daughter's! This is going to be one of our weekly entree's for sure! I did change the recipe alittle bit by adding less water and more pineapple to juice to make up for the water. This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This recipe is awesome! I used chicken drumsticks and I let it marinate for about 6 hours. I baked it in the oven uncovered for about 45 minutes. The chicken was a beautiful brown color and the chicken had just enough flavor. I would definitely serve this to company, and will make this again! It is very easy. Oh, I did add 1/4 c more of pineapple juice and 1/4 c less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I made these wings for a New Years Party. I followed some of the other reviews and switched the amounts of pineapple juice and water (e.g. 1 cup juice, 1/4 cup water if you had 3lbs of wings). I also used extra garlic, for our personal tastes - but not needed for others. I also kept the marinade and reduced it by half and added corn starch. When I took the wings out of the oven, I put them in the sauce for 5 minutes. My guests agreed, they were absolutely delicious. These will definitely become a staple for my parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Save about 1/3 or 1/2 the marinade and use corn starch to thicken on the stove. Then brush the sauce over wings during last 15 minutes of bake time. Extra delicious!! (Using all the marinade I ended up with 4 C. left over sauce--too much!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Strickler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States