Teriyaki Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This is my go to recipe for chicken wings. I have no complaints from anyone that I've made this for. I'm allergic to pineapple so the only variation I have is I use orange juice instead. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Love these wings. The best things to give them more flavour though is to make a slurry, and then dip them all in the thickened sauce after 45 minutes and let them bake for 15 minutes. I use a bit more pineapple juice, maybe 3/4 cup and use 1/2 cup of sugar. I also only use 1-2 tablespoons of oil. One of our favorites, thanks for the base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Save about 1/3 or 1/2 the marinade and use corn starch to thicken on the stove. Then brush the sauce over wings during last 15 minutes of bake time. Extra delicious!! (Using all the marinade I ended up with 4 C. left over sauce--too much!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Strickler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Everytime I make these, they get better and better. Everyone at work loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiowana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Excellent recipe! I used House of Tsang's Ginger Flavored Soy Sauce because I didn't have any ginger. It definitely came out too salty so I may use a reduced sodium soy sauce next time. I baked the wings an extra 10 minutes to achieve a nice dark color. While the wings were in the oven, I reduced the excess marinade by bringing to a simmer for 15 minutes and added onions which I sauteed in butter in a separate pan to soften them. I also added corn starch to thicken the marinade. I drizzled the sauce on the wings and deeeeelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I made these wings for a New Years Party. I followed some of the other reviews and switched the amounts of pineapple juice and water (e.g. 1 cup juice, 1/4 cup water if you had 3lbs of wings). I also used extra garlic, for our personal tastes - but not needed for others. I also kept the marinade and reduced it by half and added corn starch. When I took the wings out of the oven, I put them in the sauce for 5 minutes. My guests agreed, they were absolutely delicious. These will definitely become a staple for my parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Very tasty and easy to eat. Good for all ages. My one-year old ate loads. I tried with 350g of chicken breast/leg meat. I tenderize the chicken first then cut into 1~1.5cm strips then marinate. Then instead of baking I just put chicken and marinade sauce in a wok/non-stick pan and cooked on medium/high for a few minutes till meat has just turned non-transparent. If you like chicken breast meat this way the cooking time is significant less. I bet you can marinate the night before even. I think with chicken wings baking is still better because the grease/fat would have all sipped out to make the wings tender but not fatty, whereas it is harder to achieve that effect in a wok/pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yonghan Julia Wu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I served these as "bat wings" at our Halloween party. They were a huge, huge hit! One guest told me five or six times how much he loved them. Several people thought I'd bought them at a wings place and wanted to know where. I marinated them for the whole day out of necessity so they ended up super tasty. I'm planning on making them again soon. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Half the wings, water, soy, sugar (used brown). Used whole amt of pineapple juice and added in a hand full of titbits. Heaping on the garlic, forgot the oil. Ran it thru the blender. Marinated 2.5 hours. Boiled the leftover marinade, dumped half, (salty) added back some water and brown sugar. Reduced then thickened with cornstarch slurry for dipping sauce. Good! Gotta watch these towards the end of bake time or they will burn. Used non stick foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
These were great..I was looking for something different from my usual buffalo wings....loved these....mine were not salty at all. These were gone in 5 minutes between my two boys and my husband. For a football game will probably make a double batch along with buffalo wings...nice contract in flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States