Teri's Dinner in a Pumpkin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I was looking for a savory way to make stuffed acorn squash and this fit the bill. I took another reviewers suggestion and used curry instead of pumpkin pie spice, and hot Italian sausage. Instead of mushrooms, I chopped up some water chestnuts -- and I served the green beans on the side, since acorn squash is so much smaller of a vehicle than a pumpkin. Thanks Teri for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Absolutely the BEST Dinner in a Pumpkin I've ever eaten! I followed it to a tee, except for using ground turkey in place of beef. This will be a now be a traditional Halloween meal for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This was such a fun recipe and really unique to serve. We ate it, but the leftovers aren't looking so appealing today. Not a good sign. I recommend adding the pumpkin pie spice gradually, tasting to see when enough is enough - I think it overpowered the dish. If I make it again, I'll omit it completely and cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This was phenomenal! A great fall meal with excellent presentation. The spices are unique and make for a complex, intriguing dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I was so excited to try this recipe, but am sorry to say we did not enjoy it at all. I followed the recipe exactly and was disappointed. After a bite or two, we ended up ordering pizza. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I didn't like this at all. The spice in it didn't taste good with the hamburger mixture. Sorry, not going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This is an excellent way to use a smaller pumpkin...I added curry powder and cayenne pepper along with a roasted whole garlic to give it a little more flavor. Will make this every year as my family and guests gave it rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I made this for an all pumpkin dinner and everyone really enjoyed it. Since we had 4 couples, I baked the meat mixture in 4 pie pumpkins. We'll be having this meal again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Maybe it's just my hubby and me, but the pumpkin pie spice seemed to give it an odd flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nome, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
This was wonderful! I did cook it for about 1 1/2 hours and the pumpkin was thoroughly cooked. I also rubbed pumpkin pie spice on the inside of the pumpkin. It added a great flavor to the cooked pumkin. My dinner guests were quite impressed with the presentation. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Cozy Winter Dinner

Nothing makes a dinner party more inviting than satisfying comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States