Teri's Dinner in a Pumpkin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Perfect dinner for the fall/holidays. Feeds alot of people and the salt in the meat is balanced out with the sweetness of the pumpkin meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dxcspilk
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I was skeptical at first, especially with adding the pumpkin pie spice and brown sugar. I went for it and am glad I did! The flavor is awesome! Do NOT omit these ingredients. I followed the advice and rubbed the inside of the pumpkin with these seasonings. It was so good, I wish I added more. My children and husband were skeptical also and turning their noses up until they tasted it. They each had seconds and licked their plates clean, literally! I scraped the orange skin off to make eyes, nose and mouth to look like a jack-o-lantern. So cute, thanks Teri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I spent alot of time making this dish for a party and no one really liked it. I wil tell you though, I thought It was so good! I will make this dish again in a smaller portion for my family. I wouldnt change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darby B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I originally reviewed this recipe in DEC 2009. I wanted to add some comments as I make this every year and just love it. - Rub the insides of the pumpkins with the pumpkin spice - Precook the pumpkins for 1/2 hour before stuffing and re-baking - Used ground turkey to skinny it up a bit - I agree with others that you should drain the meat before adding the spices otherwise they wash aways - for the same reason I think the rice should be cooked separately from the meat otherwise the chicken broth might wash away the spice on the meat. I usually cannot find a large pie pumpkin so I usually end up buying two medium size ones and the filling is enough for both... so I give one away and take the burden of cooking one meal away from a friend :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbshop
Home Town: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Used 1 lb ground beef and 1/2 pound hot smoked sausage cut up small. Put half the pumpkin pie spice inside the pumpkin to coat it and half in the meat. Used beef broth, white rice, 2 cans cream of mushroom, no mushroom pieces or green beans. Tried Adding cabbage. Cooked 1.5 hours and could have gone longer - pumpkin was cooked but just barely. Big hit. Either cut up cabbage smaller or leave out and try peas perhaps. Don't like green beans or mushrooms much so didn't try them. Loved the flavor of this dish. Hit with the kids and the house smelled awesome. Love that you can add pumpkin to your plate or leave it out, great flexibility. Pumpkin pie spice works great in this application and will definitely be making this again. (Though I guess I changed it a bunch LOL!) Had too much for our pumpkin to close it properly, not sure how important that is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
It took a bit more work and time than I was expecting, but I had a great result. It's a recipe that can be toyed with and ingredients adjusted based on what you have in the kitchen or what you like best in a casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela Voss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
PERFECT just as it is -- has become a family favorite - our annual 'trick or treat' night dinner!! have shared this with tons of friends - unique AND delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
My mom made this for me and my brother and sister every Halloween night. This is the only thing we would eat before going out trick or treating. I almost think we liked the pumpkin dinner better than the treats!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I made this recipe for a fall party I attended and it was a HUGE success. I stuffed the mixture into two smaller pumpkins and then arranged them on a big serving platter surrounded by seasonal gourds. It was delicious and beautiful! I had several people ask for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
A lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGFOXX

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Cozy Winter Dinner

Nothing makes a dinner party more inviting than satisfying comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States