Teri Tips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Ok, I totally hate to post a review about how I did not follow the directions, but I have to comment on this. I made this for my husband's 30th birthday, which is in February so it's cold outside & not optimal grilling weather. We don't usually do steak unless we can grill it, especially this delicious a cut of meat, but I really wanted to do filets for his bday. So, like other posters suggested, I halved the sugar & used brown instead of white, didn't have sesame oil so used olive, chives instead of green onions & instead of white wine used red. So yes, hardly followed the ingredients at all, but it was only because I thought I had the right ingredients but didn't check before making it. Either way, this turned out absolutely fantastic for a steak that was not grilled, & even my picky, a-steak-must-be-grilled husband really liked it & savored every bite. Thanks for an awesome non-grill steak recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicoleV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I made this last night and the family loved it. Only marinated it for 4 hours and then used the broiler to broil the tri tips until they were medium rare. Served with homemade bread, soybeans in the pod and baked potato. I did not make the sauce at the end, just used the marinade. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This is an awesome recipe. I followed the directions exactly and sprinkled a few sesame seeds on top. It was perfect! I served this with stir-fried sesame asparagus from this site and a spinach salad. We really enjoyed this meal. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
great but I always use steak tips instead of filet---freezes well too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Good flavor and easy to make, but we found it very salty for our taste....and I even used low sodium soy sauce. I will definitely cut back on the soy sauce next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by killernuts0802

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
We had bought steaks from a vendor and they were all bad cuts so I thought this recipe might be a saving grace for the filets.Too salty for my taste but the boys liked it. I did marinade longer than 4 hours...more like 8 because I started it before leaving for work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by greatfoodaddict
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
OK OK So I didn't cut it up... I just felt terrible doing that to such an amazing cut of meat. It was wonderful just grilled to medium rare after marinating just like suggested. I didn't think the sauce was that amazing, but overall a very successful dish... thanks so much for using real ingredients!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greatfoodaddict

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
made with filet mignon and used less sugar (actually used all brown sugar instead of white) and added sesame seeds and bamboo shoots.. was DELICIOUS! thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by randee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lantana, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This was awesome! The filet cubes were so tender and delicious. I marinated mine all day and did not bother heating the sauce. The steaks were great on their own with a little bit of steak sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I love this recipe. I've made it with filet mignon, a less expensive cut of steak and even with turkey breast cubes. It was wonderful each time. After reading other reviews, I decided to add a little garlic and substitute honey for sugar. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. It's a 5 star keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States