Teresa's Hearty Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
A-MA-ZING! Finally found a cacciatore recipe I love, and it's easy to boot. Made just as written (only exception omitted the green pepper - hate it). I used more garlic - 6 cloves or so. Do NOT skip the pancetta step. The crushed red pepper/flour/seasonings mixture was sooooo good -- just the right amount of "zing". The sauce was perfect -- makes a LOT, so I split it in half and used my immersion blender on half which I then coated the cooked rigatoni in (it sucked it all up). Then I topped the chicken pieces and pasta with the un-blended other half on the serving platter. Sooooo good. My husband of 18 years gave it a "top 5 dinner of all time" rating -- that was HUGE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This was the best recipe I've tried in a long time. I followed everything the recipe that I didn't use the water or the cornstarch and it still thickened up perfectly. I also didn't use pancetta, I used regular pork bacon instead and this was a huge hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This is an amazing recipe. My love of my life said it was the best he has ever had. Yes, you need the pancetta, it makes the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Clark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Next time I would follow the advice to use boneless skinless chicken and cut it up into small pieces. The flavor was nice but it didn't seep into the chicken so the meat what somewhat plain. I would try it again as I said the sauce part was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I thought this recipe was outstanding. I altered the chicken used to suit my family. I used 2 bone-in chicken breasts and 4 boneless skinless thighs. I added the breasts, cooked for 25 minutes, then added the thighs and cooked for an additional 20 minutes. I disagree with previous reviewers....I think the pancetta in necessary for the flavor in this dish. Bacon would alter the taste. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
This is a great recipe, wanna give it 5 stars except that i used the full TBSP of red pepper flakes and it was too spicy for the kids. Also, I bought the pancetta just to try it. It is lovely, very delicate and delicious, but I think bacon would work well too, at less than half the price and much more availability. This also has relatively little salt but still very flavorful. It was so delicious, even with the full TBSP of red pepper! Tender, flavorful, wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I made this last night for company. It was a hit and absolutely fabulous as written. I doubled the recipe and used boneless chicken thighs though. Breading the chicken and just browning it, putting it back in with the sauce to cook made it so tender it melted in your mouth. Oh...I also didn't have but half the mushrooms on hand but still was fabulous. If I'd had the extra mushrooms, I would've used them cause I love them. I prepped the veggies and put them in bowls prior to cooking because I had errands to run. It cut down on putting it all together at once. If it hadn't been my day off, I would've prepped the veggies in the a.m., and left the cooking for when I got home. Still needs about an hour + to cook it all. Worth the wait. I'm keeping this in my recipe box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Very easy to make. The kids liked. My husband and I thought it was okay, not bad, but it didnt blow us away. Good recipe for a busy mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Madson
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Love this......... make it all the time, a great use for thighs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TerriM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Islamorada, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This is a great go to dish for any hectic weeknight. Went from chopping ingredients to setting platter on the table in less than 90 minutes. Made a few changes, the first was using a large electric skillet. Also chopped applewood smoked thick slab bacon in place of pancetta, and I used boneless, skinless thighs which I butterflied for even but quick cooking. Dredged thighs in flour seasoned as written, allowed to rest while I chopped mushrooms, then re-dredged before browning the thighs. Added 4 Tablespoons butter and when melted completely, deglazed the skillet a bit, added one pound of sliced white button mushrooms, and one pound of sliced brown button mushrooms. Saute over medium low heat, turning mushrooms over until completely cooked through. Then follow recipe as written. Our boys fought over the last piece of chicken and sauce! Not only quick (butterflying the boneless, skinless thighs helps a ton) but flavorful and filling. Keeping this recipe for busy nights and picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States