Tequila Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This is a fun to make recipe with unusual taste. I used previous suggestions and marinated shrimp in half tequila half larger with 3 Tbsp lemon juice and cilantro for 30 mins. I also added a small onion to garlic and in the end I added 2 more Tbsp lemon juice, some red pepper flakes and 1 tsp Thai Red curry paste as it was quite bland. I really liked the result and would eat the whole dish but my friend didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TequilaGirl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
Really enjoyed this recipe. However, as I was serving this over rice, I added some flour (Wondra) to the shrimp and sauce which added more body over the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
I really liked this a lot! I wasn't sure how strong the Tequila taste would be, but have to say that it turned out great! Next time I make this I will follow the advice to use lime juice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
What an excellent meal we made with this! We marinated 2lbs of shrimp in 1/2 cup tequila, 1/2 cup beer, some cilantro, garlic, and lime juice for about a 1/2 hour before sautéing with a tbsp of butter and some chopped onions. We served with black beans, pepper jack cheese, chopped tomatoes and avocados in whole wheat tortillas. You really can't make a more healthy or delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
Good but it did have a strong Tequila taste and smell. Not something I will make often but it is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
This was a nice variation on a basic shrimp recipe, but for me, there just wasn't enough flavor. Next time I think I'll try marinating the shrimp in the tequila a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
We really like this recipe. I used 1/4 cup of tequila and 1/4 cup of beer (it makes the taste more complex), and added the juice of 1/2 lime. Very easy. Serve on warm tortillas with black beans and frozen margaritas for a simple and fantastic meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Great served over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
i didn't have fresh cilantro, i think it will be MUCH better with it. Without, the tequilla kind of takes over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
THIS WAS A TOSS UP BETWEEN 3 AND 4 STARS. IT WAS GOOD, BUT NOT GREAT. I MAY FIX IT AGAIN- BUT NO TIME SOON. I SERVED OVER PASTA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States