Tennessee Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This was delicious! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
As a veteran meatloaf chef, this is a terrific recipe. I actually added more brown sugar to the sauce and added winch (Worcestershire) sauce plus sweet chili sauce. I never use loaf pans when I make meatloaf. Instead, I shape the meatloaf recipe on top of a foil lined jelly roll sheet. A 3 pound meatloaf with recipe ingredients approximates: 2" high x 5" wide x 10" long. Pour the sauce/glaze on top of this Bigfoot meatloaf, roll up the sides of the foil a bit to hold in the sauce and pop it into your oven. Thank you for this great recipe, Leigh Ann. We thoroughly enjoyed it here in Texas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NessaSays

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Very tasty. Almost has an Asian flavor. Made exactly as recipe directed. I would double glaze, however. Just my personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acdcbama
Living In: Lexington, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
yummy taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
In a Word excellent-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I don't care what anyone says, this is an outstanding meatloaf!! The only things I did different was I used an equal amount of panko bread crumbs in place of the oatmeal and made a brown gravy instead of the ketchup based glaze. I'm just not a fan of ketchup. This was simply the best meatloaf I've ever made. I can finally stop looking for a recipe for this, I'm sticking with this. Thank you for sharing this amazing recipe! !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
i cut this recipe in half as i only had a little over 1# of ground beef. this was very good. different from what i would normally make. i forgot to add the milk (oops). nice firm texture. i really minced the heck out of the yellow bell pepper i had on hand so that my DS would not see it....i also roasted my vidalia onion a bit and also cut that up pretty finely. thanks for the post Leigh Ann :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I saw a recipe from Tennessee so I knew I had to try it. My Dad took our family to Tennessee and Kentucky from Wisconsin to visit relatives one summer and I remember the food there was amazing! Anyway, I was not disappointed and I do believe this is the best meatloaf I've ever had- even better than my mother's, which I love. I agree with Leigh Ann- not putting the top coating on is like painting the Mona Lisa without a smile. Thanks Leigh Ann- my wife and I are extremely impressed and I'm already making another batch. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Not outstanding, not extraordinary, but good and satisfying. Flavor is good – I used fresh thyme (the equivalent in fresh is three times that of dried) and added some celery just because I generally do. I didn’t bother cooking the vegetables first just because I generally don’t. There is minimal filler and I appreciated that. I like the brown, crusty exterior on meatloaf so I shaped this as one loaf on a cookie sheet and baked it for 1-1/2 hours. I did not use the brown sugar glaze as the sugar did not appeal to me so I served this with a simple brown mushroom gravy. As this recipe’s first reviewer I’m happy to report that while there is much wiggle-room with this recipe to make it “your own,” this basic, old-fashioned meatloaf is good just as it stands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States