Tender Potato Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2007
Excellent recipe! I will add a little more salt next time. If you like heavy moist rolls, try this recipe. This was the first time I made rolls, and found it pretty simple to make. Definitely an instant favorite. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Used bread machine dough cycle rather than kneeding by hand. Reduced recipe to 24 rolls and still ended up filling an 11x14x2 pan with gorgeous golden brown and delicious rolls. Not sure how 36 would have fit in the same size pan. Pulled apart beautifully. In-laws are usually never happy with anything I cook, but they LOVED these! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwinsville, New York, USA
Living In: Tully, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
These are wonderful. In a pinch I used instant mashed potatoes...worked out just fine. I also substituted one cup of milk for half the water. They are going so fast I'll make another batch of them tomorrow with real potatoes! Thanks for this recipe! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worth, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to make these rolls. I proofed the yeast with the warm water and honey for ten minutes, then I added the melted butter (which I used instead of vegetable oil), the egg, the mashed potatoes (I guessed and used about a half cup of mashed potato that I had leftover in the fridge, not enough time to cook the actual potato)and the flour. I cut back the salt by a half teaspoon. I kneaded it in the Kitchen Aid with the dough hook for about five minutes or so. I set it to rise in a greased bowl on my heating pad for an hour, then formed them into rolls and plopped them into greased muffin tins (about a heaping 1/4 cup for each roll), covered them with saran wrap and set them to rise on my heating pad until they doubled. Right before baking, I lightly brushed them with a little melted butter. 400* for 12 minutes was just right for me. This was a good roll, just the right amount of sweetness. I think I'd cut back a little on the water next time and use more melted butter in it's place next time. Then, I think it might be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
These are the best potato rolls I have ever tasted. They're amazing straight out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Riverbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Wow - yummy! I made it in the breadmaker & then made only 15 big sandwich rolls - delicious with pulled pork. I started with the 4 cups flour as directed - should have just put all 6 in because it needed it. The dough was bursting out of my bread machine at the end of the dough cycle. Great recipe - a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Chester, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
"These rolls are great, Mom!", were the first words out of my sons' mouth. They were easy too. I did change a few things though. I had no honey, so I substituded approx 1/2 cup white sugar with 1/4 cup water. I added about 1/2 cup milk to the warm potato water to make 2 cups of liquid. Then I added the mixture to my bread machine, set on the dough cycle. Half of the rolls were baked that night and the rest were frozed to enjoy later. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bambam
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Made these for Thanksgiving- fantastic results. I took out what equaled about one mashed potato out of the massive mountain of mashed potatoes I had made ahead of time. Contrary to the recipe, my mashed potatoes already had butter, salt, sour cream in them and the recipe still turned out perfect. Excellent, easy to make, rich and satisfying roll. (Makes awesome little turkey sandwiches for leftovers- layer turkey, stuffing, cranberry and a little mayo on the roll.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
These were so easy to make! The dough rose easily in the fridge... so have it in a large bowl for sure so there is room enough! I'm still amazed. They are so light and delicious. This recipe is going to stay in the family. Wow. Soooo good! A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIKINE22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Oh my goodness!! I just LOVE these rolls. I made them tonight to go with supper. It is only my husband and I and our new adopted cat Gigi so I cut the recipe in half and it still worked out great:) I did not have regular baking potatoes, so I used baby red potatoes instead and 2 of them did the job. These taste so great!! They are not that hard to make either. I will be making these again and again:) Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States