Tender Potato Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Great rise and taste. I added half a cup of my potato starter to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
These were a BIG hit at my house full of boys!!! They killed a pan and a half of them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to make these rolls. I proofed the yeast with the warm water and honey for ten minutes, then I added the melted butter (which I used instead of vegetable oil), the egg, the mashed potatoes (I guessed and used about a half cup of mashed potato that I had leftover in the fridge, not enough time to cook the actual potato)and the flour. I cut back the salt by a half teaspoon. I kneaded it in the Kitchen Aid with the dough hook for about five minutes or so. I set it to rise in a greased bowl on my heating pad for an hour, then formed them into rolls and plopped them into greased muffin tins (about a heaping 1/4 cup for each roll), covered them with saran wrap and set them to rise on my heating pad until they doubled. Right before baking, I lightly brushed them with a little melted butter. 400* for 12 minutes was just right for me. This was a good roll, just the right amount of sweetness. I think I'd cut back a little on the water next time and use more melted butter in it's place next time. Then, I think it might be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Made these today. Light, fluffy and delicious. I slightly under baked. I cooled and froze the rolls and will reheat them on Thanksgiving just before dinner. I followed the recipe as shown, but made 32 rolls because it was easier to divide the dough in fourths, and then in fourths again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Lovely rolls! I cut the water to 1 C + 2 TB, the flour to 4 C, and used 1/4 C butter instead of the oil. The dough was a little sticker than usual, but workable. Still made enough rolls for the big 10x15 pan, plus a few. Tender, soft, so yummy. Will be perfect with Thanksgiving dinner! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I liked these rolls. I never made potato rolls before. My family loved them. The bottoms were a little crisp but that may be my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Keenan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Great Rolls! Nice and fluffy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
These rolls tasted very good and I'm sure I will make them again. Thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
As another reviewer has mentioned, I needed to add a significant amount of flour in order to make the dough usable. The result was a rather tough roll. They did rise well and tasted OK - but not special. I make most of my own bread and rolls, and this recipe will not be repeated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States