Tender Potato Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I don't know whether I did something wrong but they turned out very hard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Made these for Thanksgiving- fantastic results. I took out what equaled about one mashed potato out of the massive mountain of mashed potatoes I had made ahead of time. Contrary to the recipe, my mashed potatoes already had butter, salt, sour cream in them and the recipe still turned out perfect. Excellent, easy to make, rich and satisfying roll. (Makes awesome little turkey sandwiches for leftovers- layer turkey, stuffing, cranberry and a little mayo on the roll.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is a good recipe, but not fantastic. I made exactly as directed. Dough required an extra 1 1/2 cups of flour and was still sticky. After rising, I sprayed my hands with cooking spray and divided into pieces. IMHO, I would like the roll sweeter. I believe next time I will use sugar instead of honey and use 1/2 cup instead of 1/4 cup. I will also reduce the water to 1 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Very light and delicious. Make sure to give yourself plenty of time to proof (rise) the dough twice. Add at least 2 hours to the ready in time to account for that. I also brushed with butter and substituted 1 Tablespoon of butter for the vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Decided to try this recipe out on a whim. I followed the recipe exactly; only used about 4 cups of flour and brushed on some melted butter when they were done. They came out wonderfully. Soft and fluffy on the inside, golden on the outside. Hubby loved them and so did I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMommy0610

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Nassau, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Only thing is it didn't raise as much as it was suppose to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
These were so easy to make! The dough rose easily in the fridge... so have it in a large bowl for sure so there is room enough! I'm still amazed. They are so light and delicious. This recipe is going to stay in the family. Wow. Soooo good! A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIKINE22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Delicious right out of the oven!!!! I substituted a 2 oz. envelope of Idahoan instant mashed potatoes, and followed the recipe accordingly. No compromise on the potato flavor. Fun and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
These truly are 5 star rolls!! Very tender and a bit sweet...Worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRPM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Loved these rolls!! The smell alone, when they are baking will drive you crazy!! Very moist and delicious. I paired them with the "Cream of Asparagus Soup I" from here, and it was a smash hit for dinner. My 3 and 5 year olds loved it! I brushed the tops with butter as soon as I took them out of the oven, which softened the tops and gave a yummy taste. They are also great with butter and strawberry jam!! I froze the leftovers and will try bread pudding next week. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Ulysses, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States