Tender Potato Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Great rise and taste. I added half a cup of my potato starter to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
These were a BIG hit at my house full of boys!!! They killed a pan and a half of them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to make these rolls. I proofed the yeast with the warm water and honey for ten minutes, then I added the melted butter (which I used instead of vegetable oil), the egg, the mashed potatoes (I guessed and used about a half cup of mashed potato that I had leftover in the fridge, not enough time to cook the actual potato)and the flour. I cut back the salt by a half teaspoon. I kneaded it in the Kitchen Aid with the dough hook for about five minutes or so. I set it to rise in a greased bowl on my heating pad for an hour, then formed them into rolls and plopped them into greased muffin tins (about a heaping 1/4 cup for each roll), covered them with saran wrap and set them to rise on my heating pad until they doubled. Right before baking, I lightly brushed them with a little melted butter. 400* for 12 minutes was just right for me. This was a good roll, just the right amount of sweetness. I think I'd cut back a little on the water next time and use more melted butter in it's place next time. Then, I think it might be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Made these today. Light, fluffy and delicious. I slightly under baked. I cooled and froze the rolls and will reheat them on Thanksgiving just before dinner. I followed the recipe as shown, but made 32 rolls because it was easier to divide the dough in fourths, and then in fourths again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Lovely rolls! I cut the water to 1 C + 2 TB, the flour to 4 C, and used 1/4 C butter instead of the oil. The dough was a little sticker than usual, but workable. Still made enough rolls for the big 10x15 pan, plus a few. Tender, soft, so yummy. Will be perfect with Thanksgiving dinner! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I liked these rolls. I never made potato rolls before. My family loved them. The bottoms were a little crisp but that may be my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Keenan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Great Rolls! Nice and fluffy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
These rolls tasted very good and I'm sure I will make them again. Thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
As another reviewer has mentioned, I needed to add a significant amount of flour in order to make the dough usable. The result was a rather tough roll. They did rise well and tasted OK - but not special. I make most of my own bread and rolls, and this recipe will not be repeated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States