Tender Potato Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
These biscuits are indeed very light and fluffy. I made the recipe exactly as instructed using leftover Thanksgiving mashed potatoes, skins and all. The skins in the biscuits were a little disturbing and I wouldn't recommend using that type of mashed potatoes again. The biscuits were nothing spectacular and actually rather tasteless but as I stated before very light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Super awesome. I didn't add any extra sugar, I used buttermilk, and I made these into drop biscuits in my muffin tin. Great recipe. I'd like to add some spices the next time I make this, like rosemary and garlic. This recipe made twelve really large biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
These are quite good. I think I will leave out the 1/4 c sugar next time I make them as I prefer a savory biscuit. I made them with cream cheese & chive mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ahensnest
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I finally found a way to use up those leftover potatoes no one eats! This is a wonderful savory biscuit recipe! They turned out moist on the inside and nice and crunchy outside just the way I like 'em! The potatoes I used were red skin ones that I had "smashed" with butter, fresh rosemary, thyme & chives the night before so that really gave these biscuits great flavor! I didn't use all the water called for, maybe half of it. Also I used about 1/2 the sugar called for. I didn't really need the dough, just pressed it together then patted it out. I got a dozen biscuits out of it! These are only second to Kentucky biscuits on this site (only because you can eat those ones with jam, these ones just didn't taste as good cold)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahensnest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This is great. I used about 2 cups and maybe 1/4 cup of the water. I also substituted soy milk for the milk. Added some Parmesan and garlic seasoning and done in 20 minutes. Great way to use up leftover mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
not very flaky, but chewy! good overall flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambie08
Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Very good. I skipped the rolling and cutting. To save time I just rolled balls in my hand and flattened on the tray. I didn't add much sugar - as suggested by others - maybe only 1/8 to 1/4 Tbsp. Wished I had had honey in the house to put on these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
My family LOVED these biscuits. I didn't add the water it called for, as the milk made the dough moist enough. I also put in less sugar. I didn't want to take the time to roll out the dough, so I floured my hands, rolled in quick balls, flattened, and they turned out just wonderful. My mashed potatoes from Sunday had the skins on and that didn't seem to change the biscuits in any way. This is a recipe I will keep and Pass on! I have 3 kids ranging in age from 5 to 11 and they all loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5frys

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
great! i always have leftover potatoes when we order from the local chicken place. this was a great way to use them up. these were soft, almost like a roll. good flavor. my only mistake was that i made them with my largest biscuit cutter. with these, smaller would be better as they are too soft to hold their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Waffles

See how to make this genius savory recipe for waffles.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States